4 am: 52°FClear

6 am: 46°FMostly Sunny

8 am: 52°FSunny

10 am: 61°FSunny

More Weather

Area drivers win state awards

Jun. 22, 2013 @ 12:00 AM

Professional truck driver Kevin Asbury of Point Pleasant was named Grand Champion at the West Virginia Trucking Association's 58th annual Truck Driving Championship held last Saturday in Charleston.

Thirty-four professional truck drivers representing nine West Virginia-based freight companies participated in the competition.

Asbury, a driver for FedEx Freight, took the top honor after competing in a variety of skill and safety tests.

Russell, Ky. resident James Vincent May, who drives for FedEx Freight out of its Kenova, terminal, was honored with the West Virginia Professional Driver of the Year Award. May has driven over 1.9 million miles in his 26-year career.

Clarence Jenkins, Jr., a Poca, West Virginia resident employed by UPS Freight, was honored with the State Police Safety Award, an honor he has received two other times in his career.

Paul Goldizen, a driver with Burns Motor Freight and a Marlinton, West Virginia resident, earned the West Virginia Public Service Commission Driver of the Year Award. Goldizen has driven for nearly 28 years and has logged over 2.5 million miles without an accident.

Other winners included:

First Place Straight Truck: Charles Randolph, Pitt Ohio

First Place 3-Axle Tractor Semi-trailer: Kevin Asbury, FedEx Freight

First Place 4-Axle Tractor Semi-trailer: Travis Gibson, ABF Freight

First Place 5-Axle Van: Nickolas Backes, Pitt Ohio Express

First Place Tank Truck: John Gibson, ABF Freight Systems

First Place Flatbed: Paul Norman, Pitt Ohio Express

First Place Twin Trailers: James Vincent May, FedEx Freight

First Place Sleeper Berth: Joe Boyles, Con-Way Freight

First Place Step Van: James Priddy, Jr., FedEx Freight

Pre-Trip Inspection Award: Tim Hodges, UPS Freight

Rookie of the Year: Travis Gibson, ABF Freight Systems

First place drivers will compete in the American Trucking Associations' National Truck Driving Championship in Salt Lake City, Utah, Aug. 20-24.