The Herald-Dispatch Elections RSS 2015-07-28T16:09:49-04:00 urn:uuid:fbd8e2af-4b8f-44d9-bbaf-0feed7de1bb6 Original content available for non-commercial use under a Creative Commons license (Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported), except where noted. Miss the Rahall-Jenkins debate? Watch it here The Herald-Dispatch / 2015 urn:uuid:bc2a5f09-0e9b-4381-b226-63a340bcf04e 2014-10-17T10:02:05-04:00 <p> On Tuesday, Oct. 14, The Herald-Dispatch hosted a debate between Democrat incumbent Congressman Nick Rahall and Republican challenger Evan Jenkins in West Virginia&#39;s U.S. House District 3 race.</p> Rogers, Massie re-elected to Congress The Associated Press urn:uuid:25eb1473-410e-487d-b8ef-ded45146b7b0 2014-11-05T07:39:38-05:00 <p> Republican U.S. Rep. Hal Rogers won a record 18th term in Kentucky&#39;s 5th congressional district, as all of the state&#39;s congressional incumbents were returned to Washington. The attorney from Somerset was first elected in 1981 and is the longest serving Republican ever elected to federal office in Kentucky. He is the chairman of the powerful House Appropriations Committee, which oversees federal government spending. He won about 78 percent of the vote in the eastern Kentucky district.</p> Webb retains her Ky. Senate District 18 seat The Associated Press urn:uuid:8e1ef6af-4b9c-4589-a5ca-9ba1676f8653 2014-11-05T07:38:29-05:00 <p> Incumbent Sen. Robin Webb, DGrayson, defeated Republican challenger Tony Downey to keep her seat in Kentucky&#39;s State Senate District 18 on Tuesday. The Democrat incumbent received more than 63 percent of more than 34,000 votes cast for the race. The 18th District covers Boyd, Carter and Greenup counties.</p> Davis tops Rosen in Boyd circuit judge race DAVID E. MALLOY urn:uuid:07ffcfb6-2129-46a0-b474-270f86ad0d14 2014-11-05T07:37:08-05:00 <p> Boyd County Circuit Judge George B. Davis won another eight-year term on the bench by defeating former Judge Marc I. Rosen by more than a 2-to-1 margin in the nonpartisan race, 9,158 to 4,093, according to unofficial results Tuesday night from the Boyd County Courthouse.</p> Kasich coasts, leads GOP victories across Ohio The Associated Press urn:uuid:7df3c4ff-85af-43ac-afb7-abaa9dff74f0 2014-11-05T07:36:06-05:00 <p> Republican John Kasich coasted to reelection as Ohio&#39;s governor on Tuesday by defeating Cleveland Democrat Ed FitzGerald amid early indications turnout was low across the state.</p> Floodwall, police levies pass in Lawrence County DAVID E. MALLOY urn:uuid:29f4ba19-084d-4059-b73c-9794e6869bef 2014-11-05T07:34:58-05:00 <p> Voters in Ironton approved a floodwall levy while voters in South Point decided for more police protection by approving a three-mill levy to pay for more police officers for the South Point Police Department, according to unofficial totals Tuesday night from the Lawrence County Courthouse.</p> Hayes remains on Lawrence Commission DAVID E. MALLOY urn:uuid:c50b4209-c76e-401f-a438-f83e56ee4b0d 2014-11-05T07:33:35-05:00 <p> Lawrence County Commissioner Freddie L. Hayes Jr. defeated his Democratic opponent Tim Edwards, in the race for a four-year term on the Lawrence County Board of Commissioners, according to unofficial returns Tuesday night from the Lawrence County Board of Commissioners.</p> Smith, Johnson keep seats in Ohio House SHANE ARRINGTON urn:uuid:546fc52b-0c61-493c-ba36-3f0a1a5a6c83 2014-11-05T07:32:27-05:00 <p> Republicans Terry Johnson and Ryan Smith retained their seats in the Ohio House on Tuesday.</p> Re-election for Johnson in Ohio 6 The Associated Press urn:uuid:3d9fec37-1199-4c61-b90e-ffc029f5565b 2014-11-05T07:31:22-05:00 <p> Republican U.S. Rep. Bill Johnson won re-election to a third term from Congressional District 6, as Ohio voters returned each of its 16 congressional incumbents to Washington.</p> Teen to be youngest lawmaker ever in W.Va. The Associated Press urn:uuid:a4c8ba91-8666-458b-b32a-024386edf3aa 2014-11-05T07:20:32-05:00 <p> Eighteen-year-old Saira Blair will become the youngest state lawmaker in West Virginia history.</p>