11 pm: 28°FMostly Cloudy

1 am: 27°FMostly Cloudy

3 am: 26°FMostly Cloudy

5 am: 26°FMostly Cloudy

More Weather


Cabell Magistrate candidate: Opal Sanders (D)

Mar. 31, 2014 @ 11:05 AM

PARTY: Democrat

HOME CITY: Huntington

HOME COUNTY: Cabell

E-MAIL ADDRESS: osanders@myhjc.com

WEBSITE: opalsanders.com

PERSONAL STATEMENT: I was raised by my grandmother in a middle class household; I learned the value of hard work at an early age. Growing up things did not always come easy; however my grandmother always placed her children and grandchildren first. My grandmother’s values of hard work, honesty, and dedication made a permanent impact on my work ethic, and have inspired me to run for Magistrate to bring positive changes to our community. I want to make the Magistrate Court of Cabell County a model of stability, professionalism, and fairness.

BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION

AGE: 53

EDUCATION: Milton High School Graduate. Criminal Justice Major, Associate of Arts degree in Paralegal, Trained by the State Supreme Court (for Magistrate Court duties), Graduate of Domestic Violence Training and Education Program, Trained in Criminal and Civil Law.

CURRENT OFFICE OR OCCUPATION: Paralegal.

OTHER WORK HISTORY: Magistrate Assistant-West Virginia State Supreme Court Division of Magistrate Court Services, Paralegal, Teacher’s Assistant at Davis Creek Elementary Head Start, Dispatcher for Cabell County Sheriff’s Department, 911 and the West Virginia State Police.

CIVIC ORGANIZATIONS: I previously served as Vice-President of the Tri-State Gospel Music Association. I have also held a number of leadership positions within several PTA groups around Cabell County. I have been active in other organizations such as AARP, FOP Gold Star Lodge # 65, Cabell County League of Democratic Women, Alliance for Justice, Southern Poverty Law Center, and National Women’s Law Center.

FAMILY: I am proud to have grown up in Cabell County and have been married for 36 years to Rodney Sanders. I have two sons, Rodney Jr. and Austin.

QUESTIONS

1. What traits set you apart from the field of candidates and qualify you to be a magistrate?

I have worked as a Magistrate Assistant and have received my formal training from the State Supreme Court for day-to-day duties within the Magistrate Court. I have received training in Domestic Violence and have experience in both Criminal and Civil Law. I have also been known for my warm personality and professionalism within the Court.

2. What kinds of experience do you have with law enforcement or the law profession?

I have worked as a paralegal for several law firms and organizations. I have experience in handling both criminal and civil investigations. I will continue to work diligently to assure that everyone is treated equally and with a sense of respect.

3. How would you make the office more efficient?

The Magistrate Court is constantly under review. I will work with other court employees and with the West Virginia State Supreme Court to identify problems to help make the court run more efficient. My experience as Magistrate Assistant also qualifies me to fully operate my office when needed after regular business hours, without the need of an assistant.

(u'addcomment', u'nobuy')

Comments

The Herald-Dispatch welcomes your comments on this article, but please be civil. Avoid profanity, obscenity, personal attacks, accusations of criminal activity, name-calling or insults to the other posters. Herald-dispatch.com does not control or monitor comments as they are posted, but if you find a comment offensive or uncivil, hover your mouse over the comment and click the X that appears in the upper right of the comment. If you do not want your comment to post to your personal Facebook page, uncheck the box below the comment.