7 pm: 80°FPartly Sunny

9 pm: 74°FMostly Clear

11 pm: 68°FMostly Clear

1 am: 65°FMostly Clear

More Weather

Several incumbents retain magistrate seats

Nov. 06, 2012 @ 11:55 PM

HUNTINGTON — Five of six incumbents were among those who won the seven seats for Cabell County Magistrate Court, according to unofficial results.

Republican Ron Baumgardner was the only one not to win another term, as all seven magistrate winners were Democrats.

Winners included incumbents Dan Goheen, 14,410; Johnny McCallister, 12,840; Mike Woelfel, 15,233; Patty Verbage Spence, 12,031; and Darrell Black, 14,920. Challengers Scott Bias, 12,277, and Danne Vance, 12,897, also were among the top vote-getters to earn a term.

Bias is a former Cabell County Commissioner and took classes on employment law when he worked in human resources and as a union president.

Vance has 27 years of experience as a law enforcement officer, including work with the Barboursville Police Department, Cabell County Sheriff’s Department home confinement, airport police and private security.

Woelfel, who received the most votes, will remain the youngest magistrate in Cabell County at 32. He is a graduate of St. Joseph Central Catholic High School and has a bachelor’s degree in criminal justice from Marshall University. He has served as a magistrate for nine years and for the past six years has served as a member of the Magistrate Education Committee appointed by the West Virginia Supreme Court of Appeals.

Baumgardner had the next highest votes with 11,205. Tyler Beckett Smith, Paul Harvey, J. Larry Crawford, Derek A. Artrip, Robert Gillette and Fred Buchanan followed.