12 am: 66°FClear

2 am: 63°FMostly Clear

4 am: 61°FMostly Clear

6 am: 59°FMostly Sunny

More Weather

Johnson re-elected, Smith leading in Ohio legislative races

Nov. 07, 2012 @ 02:18 AM

IRONTON — Republicans Terry Johnson was re-elected, and his Republican counterpart Ryan Smith had a commanding lead in their bids for a two-year term in the state legislature, according to unofficial totals Tuesday night from The Associated Press.

State Rep. Ryan Smith was leading in his bid for a full, two-year term as state representative from the new 93rd district seat which includes a big swath of Lawrence County. Smith had 27,124 votes while Josh Bailey, a Democrat, had only 15,314 votes with 128 of 155 precincts reporting.

Smith, a Gallipolis businessman, has served seven months as state representative after winning a three-way primary election earlier this year. He was elected to the seat formerly held by State Rep. John Carey. Carey resigned earlier this year to take a job at Shawnee State University.

“2013 is a budget year,” Smith said. “There will be a lot of discussion of issues that will impact Southeastern Ohio, not the least of which is education funding.” Smith said he is a strong supporter of public education.

His district includes the South Point, Chesapeake and Proctorville areas.

In the other local state representative race, State Rep. Terry Johnson defeated Portsmouth lawyer John Haas by a total of 28,067 to 17,056. Haas is a Democrat.

Johnson, a Scioto county physician and former Scioto County coroner, finished with 62 percent of the votes with all 143 precincts reporting in his district. His district includes the Ironton, Coal Grove and Hanging Rock areas of Lawrence County.