1 am: 70°FPartly Cloudy

3 am: 68°FCloudy

5 am: 66°FCloudy

7 am: 64°FCloudy

More Weather

Farley earns another four years as Wayne sheriff

Nov. 07, 2012 @ 12:00 AM

WAYNE — Incumbent Democrat Gregory K. Farley was awarded another term as Wayne County Sheriff by voters Tuesday, according to unofficial returns counted at the Wayne County Courthouse. Farley defeated Republican Chad Shaffer 7,199 to 4,090 votes.

In the Wayne County Magistrate race, which had three seats to fill, incumbent Democrats David Ferguson and Randy Wiles received 6,899 and 7,497 votes respectively. The third seat, previously held by Teddy Mays who died in May 2012, was won by Democrat John Cavins. Cavins had been appointed to appear on the ballot for the general election and to fill the seat by the Wayne County Democratic Executive Committee following Mays’ death. Cavins received 5,794 votes.

The final contested race in Wayne County was between Democrat Wilts Salmons and Republican Renick Booth for the office of County Clerk. Booth defeated Salmons with a count of 6,091 to 4,893 votes. Salmons was appointed to appear on the ballot by the county’s Democratic Executive Committee following the death of then- Wayne County Clerk James H. “Jim” Booton in April 2012. Joan Potter had been serving as interim Wayne County Clerk since Booton’s death. She was not on the ballot for the race.

Other results from uncontested Wayne County races included:

n Wayne County Commission member David Pennington, Democrat, who received 8,753 votes.

n Wayne Prosecuting Attorney Thomas M. Plymale, Democrat, who received 8,428 votes.

n Wayne Assessor incumbent Eric L. Hodges, Democrat, who received 8,536 votes.

n Wayne County Surveyor Matthew Strogen, Democrat, who received 7,946 votes.

All results are with 36 of 36 precincts reporting. Vote canvassing will begin in Wayne County on Tuesday, Nov. 13.