9 am: 29°FCloudy

11 am: 33°FCloudy

1 pm: 37°FPartly Sunny

3 pm: 37°FPartly Sunny

More Weather

Kentucky Afield TV to feature record angler, 15-year-old Sarah Terry

Sep. 10, 2009 @ 02:52 PM

 FRANKFORT, Ky. — It’s like Christmas in September for one young lady. We open the box containing an unbelievably big fish on “Kentucky Afield” television this weekend, September 12 and 13.

Folks that bump into Sarah Terry at the grocery store call her the “big fish girl” and for good reason. The 15-year-old Mount Sterling resident does hold the Kentucky state record for muskellunge. Her smiling face and her 47-pound keeper grace the cover of the current issue of the Kentucky Fishing & Boating Guide. This week on “Kentucky Afield” TV, the mount of the fish will now grace her wall at home. She’s been anxiously waiting for host Tim Farmer to help her open the box just delivered from the taxidermist.

Elsewhere, fishing guide David Jones knows crappie fishing at Green River Lake. Oddly, he and Farmer hook a muskie, too. 

 “Kentucky Afield” is a production of the Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife Resources. It is the longest continuously running outdoor television show in the nation. The program airs Saturday at 8:30 p.m. Eastern /7:30 p.m. Central and is repeated Sunday at 4 p.m. Eastern/3 p.m. Central on KET 1. Show segments also air on the Internet at fw.ky.gov. To see the latest news about “Kentucky Afield” television and view your favorite show segments from the past, sign up today for the electronic newsletter. Visit fw.ky.gov on the Internet and click the Kentucky Afield Newsletter icon.

Read more about the Outdoors, every day online at www.herald-dispatch.com. Click onto Entertainment and then Outdoors. Also, be sure to pick up Sunday’s Herald-Dispatch for the full page Outdoors section.

()