1 pm: 65°FSunny

3 pm: 73°FSunny

5 pm: 74°FSunny

7 pm: 70°FSunny

More Weather

Wayne County students win in Math Field Day

Feb. 24, 2013 @ 12:00 AM

WAYNE -- Students from Wayne County middle school participated in Math Field Day on Jan. 24.

The sixth-grade winners include Nick Bowen, Buffalo Middle, first place; Brad Cremeans, Wayne Middle, second place; Trae Caudill, Vinson Middle, third place; and Kennah Salmons, Crum Middle, alternate.

The seventh-grade winners include Noah Frazee, Vinson Middle, first place; Ashley Gibson, Buffalo Middle, second place; Casey Hinchman, Ceredo-Kenova Middle, third place; Hannah Hysell, Wayne Middle, alternate.

The eighth-grade winners include Jacob Cumm, Vinson Middle; Drew Harper, Buffalo Middle, second place; Tanner Hamilton, Buffalo Middle, third place; and Jessica Crislip, Vinson Middle, alternate.

The high school competition was held Jan. 15, at Spring Valley High School.

The ninth-grade winners were Brandt Maynard, first place, Spring Valley; Shirley Ma, second place, Spring Valley; Alex Klappe, third place, Spring Valley; and Benjamin Thompson, alternate, Wayne; Leah Spurlock, second alternate, Tolsia; Jonathan Dillon, third alternate, Tolsia.

The senior high team winners are: Sara Brumbaugh, first place, Spring Valley; Jacob Houdyschell, second place, Spring Valley; Zach Perry, third place, Tolsia; David Dunkum, fourth place, Spring Valley; Bella Shi, fifth place, Wayne; Caleb Houdyschell, sixth place, Spring Valley; Lake Maynard, seventh place, Spring Valley; Yosef Finton, eighth place, Wayne; Logan Barnett, ninth place, Spring Valley; Kierston VanHoose, 10th place, Wayne; Kinsey Roberts, first alternate, Wayne; Jake Dillon, second alternate, Tolsia; and Ben Hughes, third alternate, Spring Valley.

The Regional Math Field Day competition will be held on the Southern Campus of Logan Campus on Friday, March 8.

Local students named to Georgetown dean's lsit

GEORGETOWN, Ky. -- Several local students were named to the Dean's List at Georgetown College.

They include Andrea Dawn Bellew of Grayson, Ky.; Braden Ross Bocard of Catlettsburg, Ky.; Erica Elyse Canfield of Ashland; Chelsea Marie Dietrich of Ashland; Kristina Lynn-Hamilton Griffth of Ashland; Whitney Genee Johns of Catlettsburg; Emily Moore Krick of Ashland; Adam M. Mayo of Ashland; Allie Grace Whitley of Grayson; and Brittany Nicole Whitt of Ashland.