12 pm: 75°FSunny

2 pm: 80°FMostly Sunny

4 pm: 81°FPartly Sunny

6 pm: 80°FMostly Cloudy

More Weather

Huntington native Peter Marshall headed to WV Music Hall of Fame

May. 14, 2013 @ 11:45 AM

The Herald-Dispatch

CHARLESTON —  The West Virginia Music Hall of Fame  has just announced its inductees for 2013.

 That list includes two Tri-State legends.

 Among the living inductees are well-known national-act bluegrass artist, Melvin Goins and his late brother Ray. Although based out of Boyd County for years, the Goins brothers were born in Mercer County, W.Va.

Huntington native Peter Marshall, who is best known for hosting more than 5,000 episodes of the five-time Emmy Award-winning game show, “Hollywood Squares,” has had a storied career as a singer as well starring in countless Broadway shows as well as continuing to be a big band singer.

Other living inductees include powerhouse now Nashville-based studio musicians and artists Wayne Moss and Tim O’Brien.

 Moss, a Kanawha County native, played the signature guitar line on Roy Orbison’s No. 1 hit “Oh, Pretty Woman,” the often-imitated guitar solo on Waylon Jennings’s “Only Daddy That’ll Walk the Line,” and on Tommy Roe’s No. 1 million seller “Sheila.”

O’Brien, a Wheeling native, is a well-respected  and Grammy Award-winning multi-instrumentalist, songwriter and artist whose release, “Fiddler’s Green,” earned him a Grammy for “Best Traditional Folk Recording in 2005. Founder of the popular group Hot Rize, O’Brien has recorded and toured often with his sister Mollie as well as Darrell Scott. In 2010, he toured with Mark Knopfler and has recorded with comedian Steve Martin.

he deceased inductees are Ada “Bricktop” Smith, Eleanor Steber, and The Swan Silvertones.

Smith, an Alderson native, was a legendary dancer, singer, vaudevillian, and self-described saloon-keeper who owned the Paris nightclub Chez Bricktop. She has been described as “one of the most legendary and enduring figures of 20th Century American cultural history.”  Bricktop’s drew many celebrities including the Duke and Duchess of Windsor, F. Scott Fitzgerald, and John Steinbeck. Her protégés included Mabel Mercer and Josephine Baker, and she employed Langston Hughes as a busboy. In 1961, at age 67, she retired to the U.S. Bricktop made a cameo appearance in the 1974 film “Honeybaby, Honeybaby” and the 1983 Woody Allen film “Zelig.” She continued to perform as a Cabaret entertainer well into her 80s.

Steber, a Wheeling native,  is considered one of the most important U.S. sopranos of the 20th Century singing with the MET Opera since 1940. With a rich voice noted for its versatility, the day she sang Desdemona in Verdi’s “Otello” for a Met matinee is still legendary. But she is most famous for her creation of the title role in Samuel Barber's “Vanessa” and for commissioning his “Knoxville: Summer of 1915.”

The Swan Silvertones, formed in McDowell County in 1938,  were one of the greatest gospel quartets of the ’50s and ’60s. The Swans were one of the first gospel groups to add instruments to its a capella sound and inspired such artists as Sam Cooke and Al Green. A line from the group’s 1961 song “Mary Don’t You Weep”—“ I'll be a bridge over deep water if you trust in my name"—inspired Paul Simon to write his 1970 hit, “Bridge over Troubled Water.” Simon hired Jeter to sing on his 1973 LP, “There Goes Rhymin' Simon,” and gave Jeter $1,000 for inspiring “Bridge over Troubled Water.” In 1991.

"The class of 2013 inductees continues the Hall of Fame’s mission to recognize outstanding artists who were born or raised in the Mountain State,” said Michael Lipton, Director of the WV Music Hall of Fame. “The fifth class honors seven more unique West Virginia artists who have made lasting contributions to American music."

“I think everyone  —  both in-and out-of-state —  is consistently amazed at the diversity of the musicians who have come from West Virginia,” Lipton added. “And it’s always exciting to discover artists who have made their marks in unique ways. Of course, that kind of singular and homegrown creativity is something we have come to expect and admire from West Virginians.

The 2013 Spirit Award will be presented to Landau Eugene Murphy, Jr.
 “We’re also excited to recognize Landau Eugene Murphy, Jr., with the 2013 Spirit Award,” Lipton added. “It goes without saying that Landau has brought positive attention to West Virginia but, just as importantly, he has been a true inspiration for young people throughout the state.”

The ceremony honoring the seven inductees will take place Nov. 16 at the Culture Center Theater, and will be broadcast live on WV PBS.

All living inductees will be present to accept their awards and perform during their induction segment. In addition to a colorful cast of hosts, presenters and performers, this year’s event will feature more musical performances.

The fifth ceremony coincides with West Virginia’s sesquicentennial and, throughout the year, the WVMHoF will sponsor events leading up to the November ceremony.

For information about the 2013 induction ceremony or if you are interested in being involved as a sponsor or volunteer, please call 304/342-4412; or email wvmhof@gmail.com