5 am: 64°FPartly Cloudy

7 am: 65°FMostly Cloudy

9 am: 68°FRain

11 am: 74°FCloudy

More Weather

Michael Prestera Award of Excellence winners announced

Apr. 27, 2013 @ 12:00 AM

HUNTINGTON -- Prestera Center officials have bestowed the Michael Prestera Award of Excellence on retired president and CEO Robert H. Hansen.

The award, named for Michael Prestera, an original member of the founding board of directors, is awarded annually to one person whose contributions result in improvements in mental health and/or substance abuse issues.

The 2013 Michael Prestera Award of Excellence was awarded to Hansen, who was employed by Prestera Center for 22 years and retired as president and CEO in 2012.

"Bob Hansen exemplifies the 'three Ps' of exemplary behavioral health service," said Karen Yost, Prestera's current president and CEO. "These are passion, people and partnerships. Bob has never shied away from developing a service or establishing a partnership if it would benefit a person in need."

During Hansen's tenure, Prestera grew from an organization on the verge of bankruptcy to a staff of 850 who served more than 21,000 adults, children and families in 53 service locations across eight West Virginia counties in 2012. Hansen joins former award winners including Dr. Mildred Bateman, Betty Barrett, Sen. Robert Plymale and Del. Jim Morgan.

Hansen was honored at Prestera's annual meeting of its board of directors in late March and at the annual benefit in mid-April.