6 pm: 76°FMostly Cloudy

8 pm: 73°FMostly Cloudy

10 pm: 69°FCloudy

12 am: 66°FCloudy

More Weather

City of Huntington Foundation accepting Wall of Fame nominations through June 30

May. 25, 2013 @ 11:10 PM

HUNTINGTON -- The City of Huntington Foundation is accepting nominations for the Greater Huntington Wall of Fame through Sunday, June 30.

The wall is located in the Big Sandy Superstore Arena and features plaques and pictures of members including a brief description of accomplishments. There are 111 people featured on the wall.

To qualify for the recognition, the nominee:

Must be a Huntingtonian, if not native born, the nominee must have lived in the Huntington area for a minimum of 10 years.

Must have performed a community service from which the entire Huntington area has benefited and/or must have achieved national recognition in his or her chosen field and acted as ambassador for the Huntington area.

Nominees may be nominated from, but not limited to, the following categories: art (literary, performing, visual), business; civic (community) service; education; humanitarian; science (medicine, research); and sports.

To submit an nominee portfolio, contact Foundation President Maxine Loudermilk at 304-696-5522. The portfolio will contain the nominee's description of accomplishments, supporting material and other information required. Completed nominee portfolios may be mailed to the City of Huntington Foundation, Inc., P.O. Box 1659, Huntington, WV 25717-1659 or delivered to the Foundation's office located in Huntington City Hall, second floor, inside the JCS Auditorium, Room 2.

The selection will be announced in August with the induction awards ceremony Thursday, Oct. 17, at the arena.

Here is a list of previous inductees into the Wall of Fame:

1986: Roberta Emerson, William Campbell, Marshall Reynolds, John Beckwith

1987: Jane Shepherd, Ken Hechler, Soupy Sales, Revella Hughes

1988: Dr. Carl Hoffman, Bos Johnson, Phillip Cline, Jim Tweel

1989: Dr. Albert Esposito, Robert Moretti, Charles Ripper, Dr. Charles Moffat

1990: Nancy Francis, Memphis Garrison, Glenn Queen, Ruth Sullivan

1991: Carter Woodson, Lawrence Bruce Jr., Lambros Svingos

1992: Sid Allen, Betty Barrett, Michael Perry, Dr. R.F. Smith

1993: James and Shirley Funderburk, Barbara Guyer, Deloris Dowling, James Hetzer

1994: none

1995: Arthur Weisberg, H.D. "Dutch" Miller, Ruth L. Cline, Julian L. Huffman

1996: Elaine Adams Novak, Harold L. Frankel, Coach Ray McCoy, Herbert L. Eiselstein

1997: Robert Edward Femoyer, Alan B. Gould, Andrew Houvouras Jr., Dr. Joseph B. Touma

1998: Dr. Robert Walker, Dagmar (Virginia Ruth Egnor), Joseph Slash, Amrose Everett "Doc" McCaskey

1999: Robert C. "Chuck" Chambers, Dr. Robert B. Hayes, Woodrow "Woody" Williams, Deborah Wolfe

2000: Robert D. Carpenter, George Selden Wallace ("The Colonel"), Charles E. "Chuck" Yeager, Regina K. "Jerry" Zitter

2001: Joan C. Edwards, Bill Evans, Coach Bob Pruett, former Gov. Cecil H. Underwood

2002: Sadie Dudley McGhee, Dr. Maurice A. Mufson, Huey James Perry, J. Robert Pritchard

2003: Robert P. Alexander, Paul Wesley Ambrose, Janet Ensign Bromley, Jose Israel Ricard

2004: Herb Colker, William Kenneth Grant, Sister M. Carola Jehle, Violet McCloud Midkiff

2005: James Casto, Janice Chandler Gold, Vickie Shaffer, J. Roger Smith

2006: William James "Bill" Archer, Frank E. Hanshaw Jr., Clarence E. Martin, Chester A. Riley Jr., Jean Carlo Stephenson

2007: Denvil F. Chandler, Donald E. DeBord, J. Robert Fletcher and Kermit E. McGinnis.

2008: Ken Chertow, Stella C. Fuller, Bob E. Myers and David Tyson

2009: Paul Whear, Henriella Perry, Clint McElroy and Harold "Hawkshaw" Hawkins.

2010: Timothy D. Carpenter; Jeffrey E. George, MD; Norma Jeanne Seay Gray; John Beaumont Walden, MD

2011: Thomas J. Bell; Terry W. Fenger, Ph.D..; Maxine Kitchen Loudermilk; Robert E. "Bob" Tweel; Ron E. Smith.

2012: Justice M. Chambers; E. Keith Dean; Verna K. Gibson; J. Churchill Hodges; Raymond G. Pollard III; Robert "Bob" Shell Jr.