5 pm: 81°FMostly Cloudy

7 pm: 77°FCloudy

9 pm: 74°FPartly Cloudy w/ Showers

11 pm: 72°FMostly Cloudy

More Weather

W.Va. lawmakers nominating new leaders for 2013-14

Dec. 09, 2012 @ 05:08 PM

CHARLESTON, W.Va. (AP) — West Virginia lawmakers are discussing who should lead the 81st Legislature.

Democrats and Republicans in each chamber planned separate closed door meetings Sunday and Monday. Each caucus nominates a candidate for House speaker or Senate president for the next two years.

Senate President Jeff Kessler won the unanimous backing of fellow Democrats for a full term on Sunday. Kessler took over from now-Gov. Earl Ray Tomblin last year.

The Democrats also nominated Sen. Joe Minard to be the next Senate clerk. Senate Republicans plan to caucus Monday.

House Speaker Rick Thompson was chosen by that chamber’s Democrats for a third term in his post. GOP delegates re-nominated House Minority Leader Tim Armstead. Each caucus met Sunday.

Republicans increased their share of the 100-delegate House this election to 46 seats.