5 am: 65°FCloudy

7 am: 64°FCloudy

9 am: 66°FCloudy

11 am: 68°FCloudy

More Weather

Reynolds named vice chair of finance

Jan. 22, 2013 @ 11:00 PM

CHARLESTON -- House Speaker Rick Thompson on Tuesday released his list of committee appointments for the West Virginia Legislature's 2013 session.

The 60-day session convenes Feb. 13.

Four of the five major committees in the House of Delegates have been assigned new vice chairs, including Finance Committee. That role will be filled by Delegate Doug Reynolds, D-Cabell.

"As a strong leader in the business community, and having served as vice chairman of the House Banking Committee, Delegate Reynolds is a great fit for the Finance Committee," Thompson said in a prepared release. "He combines business experience with a strong interest in local government and education, all important to the work of Finance."

Lincoln County Delegate Josh Stowers, a school administrator, was named vice chairman of the House Education Committee.

"Delegate Stowers is an experienced and dedicated educator who has also shown great enthusiasm and interest as a lawmaker," Thompson said.

Several other delegates are taking on new chairmanships. Delegate Kevin Craig, D-Cabell, will be chairman of the House Natural Resources Committee.

The following is a list of committee appointments for delegates from Cabell, Lincoln, Mason, Putnam and Wayne counties:

Finance: Reynolds (vice chair); Craig; Don Perdue, D-Wayne; Carol Miller, R-Cabell; Troy Andes, R-Putnam.

Judiciary: Kelli Sobonya, R-Cabell.

Health: Perdue (chair); Miller; Sobonya; Jeff Eldridge, D-Lincoln.

Education: Stowers (vice chair).

Government Organization: Jim Morgan (chair); Dale Stephens, D-Cabell (vice chair); Eldridge; Brady Paxton, D-Putnam; Scott Cadle, R-Mason.

Agriculture: Eldridge; Paxton; Miller.

Veterans Affairs and Homeland Security: Paxton (chair of Homeland Security); Eldridge (vice chairman of Homeland Security); Stephens; Cadle.

Natural Resources: Craig (chair); Eldridge.

Banking and Insurance: Morgan; Reynolds; Andes.

Pensions and Retirement: Craig; Stowers.

Political Subdivisions: Morgan.

Energy, Industry and Labor/Economic Development and Small Business: Sobonya (minority chair of Energy); Miller (minority vice chair of Energy); Andes (minority chair of Economic Development).

Roads and Transportation: Stephens; Stowers; Cadle.

Constitutional Revision: Morgan; Reynolds; Andes.

Senior Citizen Issues: Perdue; Stephens; Sobonya.

Rules: Thompson (chair); Morgan; Paxton; Sobonya.



The Herald-Dispatch welcomes your comments on this article, but please be civil. Avoid profanity, obscenity, personal attacks, accusations of criminal activity, name-calling or insults to the other posters. Herald-dispatch.com does not control or monitor comments as they are posted, but if you find a comment offensive or uncivil, hover your mouse over the comment and click the X that appears in the upper right of the comment. If you do not want your comment to post to your personal Facebook page, uncheck the box below the comment.