6 pm: 71°FRain

8 pm: 70°FRain

10 pm: 68°FMostly Cloudy

12 am: 67°FMostly Cloudy

More Weather

Teacher at Fairmont State wins the '12 Professor of the Year award

Mar. 15, 2013 @ 11:23 PM

HUNTINGTON -- The Faculty Merit Foundation awarded the 2012 Professor of the Year award Tuesday, March 12, to Gregory P. Noone, an associate professor of political science and law at Fairmont State University.

Kenneth H. Yount, a political science and history professor at Alderson-Broaddus College, was first runner-up. Daniel Holbrook, an associate professor of history at Marshall University; Dr. Gregory Juckett, a professor of family medicine and WVU Health Service physician at West Virginia University; and Bryan Raudenbush, a psychology professor at Wheeling Jesuit University, also received prizes as finalists for the award.

The Faculty Merit Foundation of West Virginia each year honors an outstanding faculty member at a West Virginia college or university. The award winner receives a $10,000 cash prize, with smaller awards to the other finalists. The Professor of the Year award is presented with financial support from United Bank.



The Herald-Dispatch welcomes your comments on this article, but please be civil. Avoid profanity, obscenity, personal attacks, accusations of criminal activity, name-calling or insults to the other posters. Herald-dispatch.com does not control or monitor comments as they are posted, but if you find a comment offensive or uncivil, hover your mouse over the comment and click the X that appears in the upper right of the comment. If you do not want your comment to post to your personal Facebook page, uncheck the box below the comment.