7 pm: 75°FCloudy

9 pm: 74°FPartly Cloudy w/ Showers

11 pm: 72°FMostly Cloudy

1 am: 71°FMostly Cloudy

More Weather

Food bank selects new leadership

Food bank
Feb. 27, 2013 @ 10:50 PM

HUNTINGTON -- The Huntington Area Food Bank's board of directors on Wednesday named a new executive director for the organization as well as new board officers.

Tiffany Tatum was appointed executive director after serving as the food bank's interim director since October, and Debra Johnson-Tourigny was chosen to be the board's new president.

Tatum, a licensed certified public accountant who holds degrees in accounting and business from Marshall University, has more than 10 years of experience working with nonprofit organizations.

"I am excited about the opportunity presented to me," Tatum said. "I am committed to fulfilling the vision of the Huntington Area Food Bank and look forward to working with Debra and a revitalized board of directors."

Tatum replaces Leigh Ann Zappin, who resigned in late September citing medical reasons. In January, Zappin was arrested in a 17-count indictment charging her with embezzling more than $23,000 from the food bank between Jan. 22 and Sept. 21, 2012.

Zappin had a previous embezzlement conviction before she was hired as executive director, something the board knew at the time of her appointment. The board, whose president at that time was Stanley Mills, stood by her appointment. Mills, though replaced Wednesday as president, remains on the board.

Johnson-Tourigny is employed by Wells Fargo and also serves on the board of the Marshall Artists Series.

"I think the food bank makes an important contribution to the community," Johnson-Tourigny said. "I'm excited about my new role and look forward to continuing the good work."

Other officers named during Wednesday's meeting included Kelli Williams, president-elect; Ann Kipp, treasurer; and David Kesling, secretary. Current board members include Mills, Francie Buchanan, James Casto, Michael Estep, David Leap, Dan O'Hanlon and Sherry Perry. Board members Dale Loy and Mary Anne Mickel stepped down and were granted emeritus member status.

Earlier this month, Erin Highlander and Katie Quinonez were named to the permanent positions of director of development and assistant director of development, respectively. Both had been working in interim positions since October.

The Huntington Area Food Bank serves 290 agencies in a 17-county area in West Virginia, Kentucky and Ohio. In 2012, they distributed more than 4.7 million pounds of food to food-insecure individuals.

Follow H-D reporter Beth Hendricks on Facebook or Twitter @BethHendricksHD.



The Herald-Dispatch welcomes your comments on this article, but please be civil. Avoid profanity, obscenity, personal attacks, accusations of criminal activity, name-calling or insults to the other posters. Herald-dispatch.com does not control or monitor comments as they are posted, but if you find a comment offensive or uncivil, hover your mouse over the comment and click the X that appears in the upper right of the comment. If you do not want your comment to post to your personal Facebook page, uncheck the box below the comment.