7 pm: 75°FMostly Cloudy

9 pm: 72°FMostly Clear

11 pm: 68°FMostly Clear

1 am: 65°FMostly Clear

More Weather

Med school recognized for efforts

May. 08, 2013 @ 12:00 AM

The Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine at Marshall University was recognized this week for its contributions to building the family physician work force. The award, administered by the American Academy of Family Physicians, was presented during the Society of Teachers of Family Medicine annual spring conference. It marks the third consecutive year the school has received the Top 10 designation.

Each year, the AAFP recognizes schools that, during a three-year period, graduated the greatest percentage of students who choose first-year family medicine residency positions.

Dr. Stan Kozakowski, AAFP director of medical education, commended the Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine for its ongoing focus of ensuring Americans have access to primary medical care.

"This says much about their focus on educating students to meet the needs of the nation," Kozakowski said.

Marshall was joined by the Brody School of Medicine at East Carolina University, the University of Kansas School of Medicine and Oregon Health and Science University School of Medicine, among others, as award recipients.