1 pm: 65°FSunny

3 pm: 73°FSunny

5 pm: 74°FSunny

7 pm: 70°FSunny

More Weather

Lawrence County highlights

Jul. 08, 2013 @ 12:55 PM

ORIGIN: Named for Capt. James Lawrence, commander of the frigate Chesapeake during the war of 1812. Founded Dec. 20, 1816. Burlington was first county seat. County seat subsequently moved to Ironton.

POPULATION: 62,450 (according to 2010 Census estimates).


CITIES AND VILLAGES: Ironton, Hanging Rock, Coal Grove, South Point, Chesapeake, Proctorville and Athalia.

SHERIFF: Lawrence County Sheriff Jeff Lawless, 740-532-3525.

COURTHOUSE: S. 4th St., Ironton, 740-533-4300.


Common Pleas Judges: Charles "Chuck" Cooper and D. Scott Bowling, 740-533-4329;

Municipal Judges: Ironton Municipal Judge Clark Collins, 740-532-3062, and Lawrence County Municipal Judge Don Capper, 740-867-3127.

COUNTY COMMISSIONERS: Bill Pratt, Les Boggs, Freddy Hayes Jr., 740-533-4300.

CLERK OF COURTS: Mike Patterson, 740-533-4352.

COUNTY CORONER: Kurt Hofmann, D.O.

COUNTY AUDITOR: Jason Stephens, 740-533-4310.

COUNTY TREASURER: Stephen D. Burcham, 740-533-4304.

COUNTY ENGINEER: Douglas Cade, 740-533-4317.

PROSECUTING ATTORNEY: Brigham Anderson, 740-533-4360.

COUNTY RECORDER: Sharon Gossett Hager.

SCHOOL DISTRICTS: Dawson-Bryant, 740-532-6451; Fairland, 740-886-3100; Rock Hill, 740-532-8053; South Point, 740-377-4315; Symmes Valley, 740-643-2451; Collins Career Center, 740-867-6631; Chesapeake, 740-867-3135; Ironton, 740-532-4133.

LIBRARY: Briggs-Lawrence County Public Library, 740-532-1124.