1 pm: 62°FPartly Sunny

3 pm: 68°FPartly Sunny

5 pm: 71°FPartly Sunny

7 pm: 68°FPartly Sunny

More Weather

Five new scholarships endowed to Marshall School of Medicine The Herald-Dispatch

Nov. 09, 2013 @ 11:34 PM

HUNTINGTON — Five new academic scholarships were announced at the Marshall University Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine in October.

The scholarships will assist medical students with educational costs.

The Peggy (Margaret) Teis Scholarship, named for a long-time employee of the School of Medicine, who passed away in 2013, will be awarded to a female, first-year medical student who is the first physician in her family and has a financial need as per standards set by the Office of Student Financial Assistance.

The Thomas and Dora Cyrus Memorial Scholarship is an expendable scholarship created by Dr. Pamela A. Cyrus, SOM Class of 1989. Cyrus established the scholarship in honor of her parents. It will assist a first-year medical student and is renewable.

The Kowalski Family Scholarship is an endowed fund established by Dr. David C. Kowalski, class of 1987, Dr. Joseph M. Kowalski, class of 1984, Dr. Paul V. Kowalski, class of 1984, Dr. Bruce J. Kowalski, class of 1991 and their mother, Kathleen Reedy. In creating the scholarship, the family requested the recipient be a first-year medical student who has a strong academic record and a common sense grasp of and use of academic and clinical material. The award is renewable for three years pending normal academic progress.

The Dr. Franklin D. Shuler Expendable Scholarship is a scholarship fund established by Cynthia Howe Murray and Thomas J. Murray in honor of Shuler for outstanding medical care. The recipient of this one-time award will be a fourth-year medical student who has demonstrated an interest in orthopaedics. The award will be given for five years.

The Dr. Mark and Monica Hatfield “Adopt a Medical Student” fund is endowed by Dr. R. Mark Hatfield, class of 1983, and Mrs. Monica Hatfield, both loyal supporters of the School of Medicine. The recipient of the award will be a medical student selected by the School of Medicine’s Scholarship Committee in cooperation with the Office of Student Financial Assistance.

For more information, call 304-691-1711.



The Herald-Dispatch welcomes your comments on this article, but please be civil. Avoid profanity, obscenity, personal attacks, accusations of criminal activity, name-calling or insults to the other posters. Herald-dispatch.com does not control or monitor comments as they are posted, but if you find a comment offensive or uncivil, hover your mouse over the comment and click the X that appears in the upper right of the comment. If you do not want your comment to post to your personal Facebook page, uncheck the box below the comment.