12 pm: 75°FSunny

2 pm: 80°FMostly Sunny

4 pm: 81°FPartly Sunny

6 pm: 80°FMostly Cloudy

More Weather

Marshall students honored in holiday contest

Dec. 23, 2012 @ 12:00 AM

HUNTINGTON -- Marshall University students Rachel Moyer of Proctorville, Ohio, Doug Hawley of Charleston and a group of four students in an advanced video production class received first-place honors in this year's annual holiday design contest for students, sponsored by MU President Stephen J. Kopp and his wife, Jane.

The competition included categories for a holiday card, a commemorative plate and a digital greeting.

Moyer, a junior graphic design major in the College of Fine Arts, School of Art and Design, was the first-place winner in the card design. Hawley, also a junior in the School of Art and Design, won the plate competition.

The first-place video was designed by David Pelts of Huntington, Morgan Thompson of Lucasville, Ohio, Kaitlyn Smith of Parkersburg, W.Va., and Christina Dotson, also of Parkersburg. The video can be seen at https://vimeo.com/55705216.

Students in Brent Patterson's advanced digital media class grouped up into teams to make the holiday videos. In addition, guitar students of Dr. Julio Alves collaborated with the teams and performed the music specifically for this project. Those students were Danilo Moraes and Jonathan Thorne.

"The students in this class are new to video and animation and as such had to overcome many technical as well as conceptual challenges, but that is how learning happens, and they all did very well," Patterson said in a release. In addition to the holiday card video, Patterson said, the students in the class created several short animations and short films.

In the card competition, Rebecca Keith of Mineral Wells, W.Va., was second and third place went to John Ross Fowler of Scott Depot, W.Va. Felicia Stephenson of Charleston received honorable mention.

In the plate competition, Fowler was second, Emma Nilsson of Huntington was third and Kacy Manilla of Huntington received honorable mention.

Two groups totaling seven students tied for the digital greeting runner-up spot. The students are David Burner of Huntington, Enam Banaja of Barboursville, Adam Howell of Hurricane, W.Va., Katie Abbott of South Charleston, Ola El-Abed of Huntington, Joe Nelson of Barboursville and David Lovejoy of Huntington.

Members of the third-place group in the video competition were Nilsson, Benjamin Joel Richardson of Huntington, Sam Pauley of Barboursville and Margaryta Seliverstova of Huntington.

The card design and plate design competition began in 2007 as a way of recognizing the talent of Marshall's students. The plates are given to large donors while the cards go out to all the people on the mailing list. About 75 plates and about 1,000 print cards are issued each year.