8 pm: 48°FSunny

10 pm: 43°FClear

12 am: 40°FClear

2 am: 36°FClear

More Weather

Marshall announces next class of Yeager Scholars

Jun. 23, 2013 @ 12:00 AM

HUNTINGTON -- Six students, including four from West Virginia, have been chosen as the Marshall University Society of Yeager Scholars Class of 2017.

After receiving the scholarship, the students must maintain a rigorous course load, as well as a 3.5 grade point average and are expected to participate in campus and community activities.

They also will have the opportunity to study literature, political science or history abroad at the University of Oxford in England as well as study in a country of the scholar's chosen foreign language.

The Yeager Scholars Class of 2017 includes:

Sara E. Brumbaugh is a resident of Kenova and a graduate of Spring Valley High School. She is interested in biomedical science and mathematics.

David Ben Jones is a resident of Huntington and a graduate of Huntington High School. He intends to pursue a degree in mathematics.

Chandler M. Milam is a resident of Dunbar, W.Va. He graduated from South Charleston High School and intends to study biochemistry.

Mary Kate Miller of Berea, Ky. She is a recent graduate of Madison Central High School and will study forensic chemistry.

Abigail A. Pullen of Ashburn, Va. She graduated from Broad Run High School and is interested in studying humanities in the College of Liberal Arts.

Amanda Schwartz from Winfield, W.Va. She is a graduate of Winfield High School and intends to be an English major.

The program is named for U.S. Air Force Brigadier General (Ret.) Charles E. "Chuck" Yeager, who is a native of Lincoln County. In October 1947, Yeager captured the world's attention by becoming the first supersonic pilot by breaking the sound barrier in a Bell X-1 experimental aircraft in California. The mission of the Society of Yeager Scholars is to seek out and attract to Marshall University a diverse and talented group of students with outstanding leadership potential.