5 am: 33°FClear

7 am: 36°FSunny

9 am: 44°FSunny

11 am: 59°FSunny

More Weather

Election filings wrap up

Aug. 08, 2013 @ 12:00 AM

IRONTON -- Local option elections to determine if alcohol can be sold are being sought by Sam's and Walmart in the Burlington area and at a BP Station in the Sheridan area. Those are among a number of issues being put before voters this fall, according to the Lawrence County Board of Elections.

The city of Ironton is asking for a half-mill, five-year recreation levy while the village of Coal Grove is seeking an additional one mill levy for current expenses. South Point also is seeking a three-mill current expenses levy for five years. Meanwhile, both Elizabeth Township and Perry Township are seeking one-mill fire levy renewals for five years.

The deadline for seeking school board, city and village council seats and township trustee and fiscal officer positions was 4 p.m. Wednesday.

Here is a rundown of those who filed:

Ironton City Council: Bob Cleary, Beth Rise and R. Craig Harvey filed for four open seats.

South Point Village Council: Jim Paye, Mary Cogan, David Classing, Christopher Smith, Danny Smith, Buel Collins, Eric Rawlins, David Moore, Michael Lynd, Dale Jackson and Sam Suiter Jr. filed for four seats.

Chesapeake Village Council: Elonzo Sawyers, Paul E. Hart, Paul N. Hart, Richard McMaster, Richard L. Stover and Thomas Templeton filed for four seats.

Proctorville Village Council: Brenda Chapman, Justin Wurtzler, Brian Root, Raymond W. Shepherd, Larry "Davy" Peters and Fred Cooper filed for four seats.

Coal Grove Village Council: Frederick L. Roush, Randy Wise, Eric Holmes, William Bryant, Shawn McDaniel, Nick McKnight and Kimberly McKnight filed for four open seats.

Hanging Rock Village Council: Ervin Napier and Debra Evans filed for four open seats on Athalia Village Council while David Hopper and Tim Dickens filed for four open seats.

Lawrence County Education Service Center: Ray Malone, Roland Hayes and Phillip Carpenter filed for three seats.

Chesapeake Board of Education: Arthur Suiter, Carl Lilly and Jeanne Harmon filed for two seats.

Dawson-Bryant Board of Education: William Irby, Jamie Murphy, Debbie Drummond, Donny Turner and Brady Harrison for three seats.

Fairland Board of Education: Barbara Dinwiddie, Gary L. Sowards, R. Matt Ward, Charles Workman and Martin Appleton filed for three open seats.

Ironton Board of Education: Jay Zornes and Burton Payne filed for two seats.

Rock Hill Board of Education: Paul David Knipp and Wanda Jenkins filed for two seats.

South Point Board of Education: Stacy A. Thacker, Rita Vance, Jack Nuckols and Jan Keatley filed for two seats.

Symmes Valley Board of Education: Chris Thompson, Tommy Shepherd, Hope Rowe, Allen K. Miller and Mike Wall filed for three seats.

Aid Township: Brian Pancake and Geroge Gabriel Patterson filed for two trustee positions while Wayne Taylor and Tonnia Meadows filed as fiscal officer.

Decatur Township: Tim Blagg and Ronnie Cox filed for two trustee positions.

Elizabeth Township: Ron Davis, James Phillip Bailey and Brian Kidd filed for two trustee positions.

Fayette Township: Mike Finley, Perry Brock and Travis Wise filed for two trustee positions.

Hamilton Township: Bob Blankenship, David Blankenship, Larry Fraley and Forrest Kerns filed for two trustee positions. Terri Robinson filed for fiscal officer.

Lawrence Township: Scott Mootz, Scott Gore, Brent Dickess, Joe Ferguson and Donald Mannon filed for two trustee positions.

Mason Township: Stephen Colegrove, Jeff Estep, Derek L. Wilson and Lewis Pauley filed for two trustee positions.

Perry Township: Jeffrey Joseph Barry, Barry Blankenship, Jeffery Pemberton and Ryan Bentley filed for two trustee positions.

Rome Township: Brian Pinkerman, Mark Bailey and Dean Cooper filed for two trustee positions.

Symmes Township: Ronald Hatfield, Rick Carpenter and Chris Brown filed for two trustee positions.

Union Township: Rick Gue and Mike Curry filed for two trustee positions.

Upper Township: Robert Ackerman, Mike McDaniels and Don Klaiber filed for two trustee positions.

Washington Township: Jerry E. Kelley and Mike Freeman filed for two trustee positions while Katrenda J. Lewis and Barbarina Davidson filed for Washing fiscal officer.

Windsor Township: Mark Johnson, Donald Adkins, Robert Burcham and David Wilson filed for two trustee positions.



The Herald-Dispatch welcomes your comments on this article, but please be civil. Avoid profanity, obscenity, personal attacks, accusations of criminal activity, name-calling or insults to the other posters. Herald-dispatch.com does not control or monitor comments as they are posted, but if you find a comment offensive or uncivil, hover your mouse over the comment and click the X that appears in the upper right of the comment. If you do not want your comment to post to your personal Facebook page, uncheck the box below the comment.