9 pm: 63°FPartly Cloudy

11 pm: 56°FPartly Cloudy

1 am: 55°FPartly Cloudy

3 am: 53°FPartly Cloudy

More Weather

Ohio voters to decide on candidates, issues

Nov. 05, 2013 @ 12:00 AM

IRONTON -- A light turnout was expected at the polls Tuesday, Nov. 5, as Lawrence County voters decide on school board candidates, township trustees and city and village council candidates.

Polls in the county's 84 precincts will be open from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. Tuesday. Anyone having a problem voting can call the county board of elections at (740) 532-0444.

Kathy Overbeck, election board chair, projected about a 20 percent turnout for the election.

Besides candidates for public offices, several other issues will be put before voters, including a local option election in Burlington 1 precincts. Voters there will decide whether to allow the sale of alcoholic beverages at Sam's and Wal-Mart. Voters in the Sheridan area also will decide whether to allow alcoholic beverage sales at the BP station there.

The city of Ironton also is seeking renewal of a half-mill, five-year recreation levy. South Point is seeking a three-mill current expenses levy for five years, and Coal Grove is seeking an additional one-mill levy for current expenses.

Meanwhile, Elizabeth Township and Perry Township are seeking one-mill fire levy renewals for five years.

Here is a rundown of the office-seekers:

City, village councils

Athalia Village Council: David Hopper and Tim Dickens filed for four open seats.

Chesapeake Village Council: Elonzo Sawyers, Paul E. Hart, Paul N. Hart, Richard McMaster, Richard L. Stover and Thomas Templeton filed for four seats.

Coal Grove Village Council: Frederick L. Rouse, Randy Wise, Eric Holmes, Shawn McDaniel, Nick McKnight and Kimberly McKnight filed for four seats.

Hanging Rock Village Council: Ervin Napier and Debra Evans filed for four open seats.

Ironton City Council: Bob Cleary, Beth Rist, and R. Craig Harvey filed for four open seats. Dave Frazer and Jerry Brownstead filed as write-in candidates.

Proctorville Village Council: Brenda Chapman, Justin Wurtzler, Brian Root, Raymond W. Shepherd, Larry "Davy" Peters and Fred Cooper filed for four seats.

South Point Village Council: Jim Payne, Mary Cogan, Christopher Smith, Danny Smith, Buel Collins, Eric Rawlins, David Moore, Michael Lynd, Dale Jackson and Sam Suiter Jr. filed for four seats.

School boards

Chesapeake Board of Education: Arthur Suiter, Carl Lilly and Jeanne Harmon filed for two seats.

Dawson-Bryant Board of Education: William Irby, Jamie Murphy, Debbie Drummond. Donny Turner and Brady Harrison filed for three seats.

Fairland Board of Education: Barbara Dinwiddie, Gary L. Sowards, R. Matt Ward, Charles Workman and Martin Appleton filed for three seats.

Ironton Board of Education: Jay Zornes and Burton Payne filed for two seats.

Lawrence County Education Service Center: Ray Malone, Roland Hayes and Phillip Carpenter filed for three seats.

Rock Hill Board of Education: Paul David Knipp and Wanda Jenkins filed for two seats.

South Point Board of Education: Stacy A. Thacker, Rita Vance, Jack Nuckols and Jan Keatley filed for two seats.

Symmes Valley Board of Education: Chris Thompson, Tommy Shepherd, Hope Rowe, Allen K. Miller and Mark Wall filed for three seats.

Township trustees

and fiscal officers

Aid Township: Brian Pancake and George Gabriel Patterson filed for two trustee seats. Wayne Taylor and Tonnia Meadows filed for fiscal officer.

Decatur Township: Tim Blagg and Ronnie Cox filed for two trustee seats.

Elizabeth Township, Ron Davis, James Phillip Bailey and Brian Kidd filed for two trustee seats.

Fayette Township: Mike Finley, Perry Brock and Travis Wise filed for two trustee seats.

Hamilton Township: Bob Blankenship, David Blankenship, Larry Fraley and Forrest Kerns filed for two trustee seats. Terri Robinson filed for fiscal officer.

Lawrence Township: Scott Mootz, Scott Gore, Brent Dickess, Joe Ferguson and Donald Mannon filed for two trustee seats.

Mason Township: Stephen Colegrove, Jeff Estep, Derek L. Wilson and Lewis Pauley filed for two trustee seats.

Perry Township: Jeffrey Joseph Barry, Barry Blankenship, Jeffery Pemberton and Ryan Bentley filed for two trustee seats.

Rome Township: Brian Pinkerman, Mark Bailey and Dean Cooper filed for two trustee seats.

Symmes Township: Ronald Hatfield, Rick Carpenter and Chris Brown filed for two trustee seats.

Union Township: Rick Gue and Mike Curry filed for two trustee seats.

Upper Township: Robert Ackerman, Mike McDaniels and Don Klaiber filed for two trustee seats.

Washington Township: Jerry E. Kelley and Mike Freeman filed for two trustee seats. Katrenda J. Lewis and Barbarina Davidson filed for fiscal officer.

Windsor Township: Mark Johnson, Donald Adkins, Robert Burcham and David Wilson for two trustee seats.



The Herald-Dispatch welcomes your comments on this article, but please be civil. Avoid profanity, obscenity, personal attacks, accusations of criminal activity, name-calling or insults to the other posters. Herald-dispatch.com does not control or monitor comments as they are posted, but if you find a comment offensive or uncivil, hover your mouse over the comment and click the X that appears in the upper right of the comment. If you do not want your comment to post to your personal Facebook page, uncheck the box below the comment.