3 am: 41°FClear

5 am: 39°FClear

7 am: 38°FSunny

9 am: 48°FSunny

More Weather

Med school board community-focused

Med school
Apr. 24, 2013 @ 10:55 PM

HUNTINGTON -- The creation of a new advisory board at Marshall University's medical school will aid in strategic development and community engagement, according to Dean Joseph I. Shapiro.

Shapiro announced the Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine advisory board on Wednesday, and tied is formation to his relocation to Huntington when he was named dean in March 2012.

"As a newcomer to this community, I thought it would be helpful, in addition to working with active insiders, to get a sense from the community as well as former insiders who have stayed here, on their insights into where they think the med school should be going," Shapiro said.

Although some of the focus of the board will be on fundraising, Shapiro said the group will be integral in terms of finding and utilizing community resources.

"Some of it will be fundraising, obviously. You can't get away from that, but really, more is being asked of these board members, to help give me some guidance in terms of mustering community resources," Shapiro said.

The board members, Shapiro said, are a strategic mix of physicians and community partners as well as individuals outside the sphere of Marshall University.

Board members include Dr. Joseph P. Assaley, Dr. Maurice A. Mufson, Dr. Dev R. Rellan and Tamela J. White (four-year terms); Dr. Shari J. Clarke, Monica J.W. Hatfield, Dr. Mark F. Sheridan and Dr. Charles E. Turner (three-year terms); Sharon N. Ambrose, Steven L. Shattls, Dr. Omayma T. Touma and Joan M. Weisberg (two-year terms); Dr. Joseph I. Shapiro, Dr. Paulette Wehner and Linda S. Holmes, ex-officio members.

White, former nurse and hospital administrator, will serve as chairwoman. Sheridan, a 1987 graduate of the medical school and local physician in private practice, has been selected by the board as chair-elect.

Members of the inaugural board met for an organizational meeting in April and expect to meet bi-annually.

Follow H-D reporter Beth Hendricks on Facebook or Twitter @BethHendricksHD.

(u'addcomment', u'nobuy')


The Herald-Dispatch welcomes your comments on this article, but please be civil. Avoid profanity, obscenity, personal attacks, accusations of criminal activity, name-calling or insults to the other posters. Herald-dispatch.com does not control or monitor comments as they are posted, but if you find a comment offensive or uncivil, hover your mouse over the comment and click the X that appears in the upper right of the comment. If you do not want your comment to post to your personal Facebook page, uncheck the box below the comment.