3 pm: 73°FSunny

5 pm: 70°FMostly Sunny

7 pm: 66°FMostly Sunny

9 pm: 61°FClear

More Weather


Feb. 13, 2013 @ 06:55 AM

HUNTINGTON -- The Huntington Region of the Governor's Highway Safety Program on Tuesdayt recognized 10 officers, two law enforcement departments and 15 individuals/companies for their work in 2012 on highway safety.

The event was at the Marshall Hall of Fame Cafe.

Huntington Police Officer Joey Koher was recognized by Margie Sadler, Mothers Against Drunk Driving victim's advocate, as the West Virginia DUI Officer of the Year for making 251 DUI arrests in 2012.

The program is sponsored by the West Virginia Governor's Highway Safety Program and Armstrong Cable.

Here are those who were honored:

HIGHWAY SAFETY COMMITTEE AWARD OF EXCELLENCE: Candice Finley of Armstrong Cable; Amy Saunders of Marshall University; Michelle Perdue of Cabell County Substance Abuse Prevention Partnership; Lisa Keefer of Lamar Advertising; Sarah Sang of Kanawha Valley Advertising; Mike Kirtner of Kindred Communications; Steve Amis of Ceredo Police Department; Loretha Wilson of Southwest Community Action Council; Beau Evans of Huntington Highway Safety; Stephanie Southall of Bureau for Behavioral Health and Health Facilities; Cathy Coontz of Bureau for Behavioral Health and Health Facilities; and Lt. Brenda Wamsley, who recently retired from the Huntington Police Department.

MADD AWARDS: Margie Sadler, Stephanie Kinnard; Darlene Hardwick, all of MADD West Virginia.

DUI AND LAW ENFORCEMENT AWARDS: Officer Jonathan Clemins, Officer Richard Kern, Officer Travis Hagan, Officer Hans Eric Naumann, all of the Huntington Police Department; Deputy Nathan E Triplett of Wayne County Sheriff's Department; Officer John. J. Napier of Hamlin Police Department; Cpl. Harry Teare of Eleanor Police Department; Deputy Michael Miller of Mingo County Sheriff's Department; and Officer Max D. Salmons of Gilbert Police Department.

TOTAL ARRESTS BY LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCY: Putnam County Sheriff's Office and Huntington Police Department.