3 am: 53°FPartly Cloudy

5 am: 52°FPartly Cloudy w/ Showers

7 am: 54°FRain

9 am: 58°FCloudy

More Weather

Zerkle voted player of the year

Jun. 04, 2013 @ 12:00 AM

HUNTINGTON -- Cabell Midland infielder Morgan Zerkle was chosen as the Mountain State Athletic Conference softball player of the year.

Zerkle hit .647 for the Knights with four home runs, 23 runs batted in and 59 runs.

Josh Caldwell from Hurricane was named as the coach of the year.

All-MSAC first team players included Cabell Midland infielder Morgan Kelley and outfielder Jenny Brumfield; Hurricane pitcher Courtney Rogers, outfielder Addie Fullen and catcher Linzie Reynolds; and Spring Valley's Cassie Adkins as a utility player.

Players named to the all-conference second team included Huntington High pitcher Rachel Bias and Cabell Midland outfielder Jordan Colliflower along with Hurricane infielders Madison Casto and Cassi Sargent.


Player of the Year

Morgan Zerkle, IF, Cabell Midland

Coach of the Year

Josh Caldwell, Hurricane

First team

P Ali Haynes, Sr., St. Albans

P Courtney Rogers, So., Hurricane

P Alli Burdette, Sr., South Charleston

OF Jenny Brumfield, Sr., Cabell Midland

OF Meredith Cain, Sr., South Charleston

OF Dusti Fisher, Jr., Ripley

OF Allie Fullen, Jr., Hurricane

IF Morgan Kelley, Sr., Cabell Midland

IF Taylor Beckley, Jr., Parkersburg

IF Alyssa Bonhan, Jr., St. Albans

IF Rachel Ward, Sr., George Washington

DH Cassidy Newbrough, So., Parkersburg

U Cassie Adkins, Jr., Spring Valley

C Linzie Reynolds, Sr., Hurricane

Second team

P -- Chelsey Hager, Jr., Ripley; Rachel Bias, Jr., Huntington High; Sara Winter, Sr., Riverside.

OF -- Jordan Colliflower, Jr., Cabell Midland; Jahnae McDowell, Sr., Woodrow Wilson; Kaylee Stanley, Jr., South Charleston; Morgan Lanhan, Jr., Parkersburg; Destinae Schmidt, Jr., Riverside.

IF -- Haili McCown, Jr., St. Albans; Mehan Brannon, Jr., Ripley; Madison Casto, So., Hurricane; Ali Ferrell, So. George Washington; Cassi Sargent, So., Hurricane.

DH -- Adrienne Mullins, So., Woodrow Wilson.

U -- Brittany Allison, So., Parkersburg.

C -- Mariah Caudill, Sr., St. Albans.

Special honorable mention

Brooke Jackson, Spring Valley; Ally Funk, Winfield; Kenna Markham, Winfield; Erin Kaplan, Cabell Midland; Nicole Pierson, Hurricane.

Madi Marshall, St. Albans; Kelsey Moore, Ripley; Destini Diegert, Riverside; Chelsie Hall, Nitro; Ashley Mellinger, Ripley; Nichole Brown, Nitro; Meredith Putorek, Princeton; Bailey Rabel, George Washington; Felicia Burton, Riverside; Cara Macklay, Woodrow Wilson.

Honorable mention

Morgan Sawyers, Huntington High; Mandi King, Cabell Midland; Abbie Short, Winfield; Emily Davis, Hurricane.

Whitney Jones, St. Albans; Shelby Bowen, Nitro; Courtney Burkhart, Capital; Mallory Goots, Parkersburg; Ali Cunningham, Ripley; Brittany Moore, Princeton; Aaliyah Phillips, South Charleston; Taylor Casto, George Washington; Kaylee Wolfe, Riverside.