10 am: 58°FMostly Cloudy

12 pm: 65°FPartly Sunny

2 pm: 68°FPartly Sunny

4 pm: 70°FMostly Cloudy

More Weather

MU goalie voted C-USA Player of the Year

Nov. 07, 2012 @ 12:57 AM

HUNTINGTON -- Daniel Withrow from the Marshall Thundering Herd men's soccer team was chosen as the Co-Conference USA Player of the Year.

Tom Jackson, Devin Perkins and Jack Hopkins from the Herd received all-conference team honors.

Withrow, a Michigan native. becomes Marshall's first-ever C-USA Player of the Year following a record-breaking season during which he became Marshall's all-time leader in single-season and career shutouts. His 9.5 clean sheets and .52 goals against average were the best marks in the league and fifth-best in the entire nation.

Withrow also received a spot on the All-C-USA First Team.

"We're thrilled for Daniel," said head coach Bob Gray. "He had a tremendous career here at Marshall and broke all kinds of records. In my opinion he's without a doubt the best goalkeeper in the country and hopefully he'll go on to have a good professional career."

Senior forward Jackson, a native of New Zealand, earned C-USA Second Team honors for the second year in a row after scoring a team-leading 8 goals in 14 games -- an impressive mark considering Jackson missed three games with an injury. His tally was fifth-best in the league and moved Jackson into the top five for career points and goals in the Marshall record books.

Perkins, also a senior, was honored with a spot on the C-USA Third Team. Perkins did not record a single goal or assist this season, but was captain of the team that achieved the third-best record (11-5-1) in Marshall program history.

Hopkins, who scored back-to-back golden goals for the Herd in wins over Radford and Memphis, was selected to the C-USA All-Freshman team after appearing in all 17 games with 10 starts. His four goals ranked second on the team behind Jackson.

"I'm happy for the other three players who made the all-conference teams as well," Gray said.

Along with Withrow, SMU goalkeeper Jaime Ibarra was named Co-CUSA Player of the Year for leading the Mustangs to a regular season championship. Memphis's Mark Sherrod received Offensive Player of the Year honors, and Ibarra was further honored as Defensive Player of the Year. Tulsa's Christian Mata was named Freshman of the Year after finishing second in the league with 12 goals.



The Herald-Dispatch welcomes your comments on this article, but please be civil. Avoid profanity, obscenity, personal attacks, accusations of criminal activity, name-calling or insults to the other posters. Herald-dispatch.com does not control or monitor comments as they are posted, but if you find a comment offensive or uncivil, hover your mouse over the comment and click the X that appears in the upper right of the comment. If you do not want your comment to post to your personal Facebook page, uncheck the box below the comment.