10 am: 52°FMostly Cloudy

12 pm: 60°FPartly Sunny

2 pm: 66°FSunny

4 pm: 67°FSunny

More Weather

Ohio All-District team honors Tigers

Nov. 17, 2012 @ 11:00 PM

HUNTINGTON -- Aaron Stephens, Patrick Lewis and head coach Mark Vass from the Ironton Fighting Tigers received individual recognition on The Associated Press Ohio Southeast All-District football team.

Lewis, a 5-foot-10, 175-pound senior running back, was named as the Division IV district co-offensive player of the year while Stephens, a 6-3, 210-pound senior lineman was the defensive player of the year.

Vass was chosen as the Division IV co-coach of the year.

Ironton offensive lineman Adam Webb (6-6, 330, Jr.), defensive lineman Trevor White (6-3, 210, Sr.) and linebacker Maurice Phillips (5-10, 225, Sr.) also made the All-Division IV first team.

Fairland first team selections were offensive all-purpose player Kyle Sowards (5-9, 150, Jr.) and defensive lineman Tyree Ceasar (5-8, 205, Sr.).

Chesapeake players on the first team were defensive back Javon Thompson (6-1, 165, Sr.) and linebacker T.J. McCoy (5-11, 230, Sr.).

All-Division V first team players included Coal Grove offensive lineman Austin Pleasants (6-5, 280, So.), halfback Brandon Hogsten (5-11, 200, Sr.), linebacker Kyle Estep (6-3, 180, Sr.) and defensive back Alex Bare (5-9, 150, Sr.).

Shane Harper (6-0, 205, Sr.) from Rock Hill made the Division V first team at linebacker.

Wheelersburg quarterback Eddie Miller III (6-1, 165, Jr.) was the Division V offensive player of the year. Miller was joined on the first team by Wheelersburg ends Tyler Claxon (5-10, 145, Jr.) and Dylan Miller (6-4, 180, Jr.); offensive lineman James Hudgel (6-3, 250, Sr.); and defensive lineman Cameron Parsley (6-2, 185, Jr.).

Symmes Valley placed several players on the Division VI first team.

The Vikings were represented by End Austin Baldwin (6-4, 225, Sr.), halfback Alec Herrell (5-9, 180, Sr.), defensive lineman Jacob Easthom (5-10, 240, Jr.), linebacker Tyler Rowe (6-3, 205, Jr.) and defensive back D.J. Miller (5-10, 175, Jr.).

Defensive lineman Kaden Sampson (6-1, 190, Sr.) from Green was also on the Division VI first team.

Gallipolis linebacker Ty Warnimont (5-9, 170, Jr.) was the Division III defensive player of the year. Mike Eddy from the Blue Devils was the coach of the year.