7 pm: 68°FPartly Sunny

9 pm: 61°FMostly Clear

11 pm: 54°FClear

1 am: 52°FClear

More Weather

Hoskins named to Mackey Award list

Jul. 10, 2013 @ 12:28 AM

HUNTINGTON -- For the second-straight day, Marshall had an offensive player added to a national award list.

On Tuesday, Marshall tight end Gator Hoskins was named to the Mackey Award Watch List, given to the top college tight end in the nation.

Hoskins was one of 37 tight ends named to the preseason watch list.

He joins Marshall quarterback Rakeem Cato, who was nominated for the Maxwell Award on Monday, as Marshall players to receive preseason accolades.

Hoskins flourished in Marshall's revamped offense in the 2012 season.

He led all tight ends nationally with 10 touchdown receptions, which was also the second-highest total among all Conference USA receivers. He trailed only East Carolina wide receiver Justin Hardy in receiving touchdowns.

The 10 touchdowns also established a Marshall single-season record at the tight end position.

Being named to the Mackey Award Watch List is nothing new for Hoskins, who was an addition to the list in the middle of last season following a strong start to the year.

The highlight of Hoskins' 2012 season was a three-touchdown performance in Marshall's 51-41 loss to Purdue.

Hoskins was voted as an All-Conference USA selection by league coaches and several other media outlets, including CollegeFootballNews.com, CollegeSportsMadness.com and Phil Steele Publications.

For the year, Hoskins finished with 35 receptions for 374 yards to go with his 10 scores. His long reception of the season was a 72-yard touchdown reception that came in the 45-38 loss to Tulsa.

The Mackey Award is voted on by a panel of members who make up the selection committee.

On Oct. 14, that committee will release the Mackey Midseason Watch List before paring things down to semifinalists on Nov. 18.

One week later, the Mackey finalists will be named and those players will be invited to the Home Depot College Football Awards show on Dec. 12. That is when the winner will be announced.

The award is named for John Mackey, who is largely considered the best tight end in football history.

The Mackey Award has been presented since 2000 and winners include names like Dallas Clark and Heath Miller -- a pair of NFL Pro-Bowlers now.



The Herald-Dispatch welcomes your comments on this article, but please be civil. Avoid profanity, obscenity, personal attacks, accusations of criminal activity, name-calling or insults to the other posters. Herald-dispatch.com does not control or monitor comments as they are posted, but if you find a comment offensive or uncivil, hover your mouse over the comment and click the X that appears in the upper right of the comment. If you do not want your comment to post to your personal Facebook page, uncheck the box below the comment.