4 pm: 51°FSunny

6 pm: 52°FSunny

8 pm: 48°FSunny

10 pm: 43°FClear

More Weather

Divisions, regions assigned for Ohio

Prep Notebook
Jun. 16, 2013 @ 11:29 PM

Area Ohio high schools learned last week about their division and region assignments for the 2013 football season. Some have new homes thanks to the Ohio High School Athletic Association.

Gallia Academy, which was a regional semifinalist in Division III last season, will be in Division IV now along with Meigs (coached by Marshall grad and former NFL standout long snapper Mike Bartrum). Division IV has schools with a male enrollment of 213-to-280 and contains 109 schools overall.

River Valley has shifted from Division IV to Division V and will join 107 other schools with a male enrollment of 156-to-212. Other local schools among the 26 in the region are South Point, Fairland, Rock Hill, Chesapeake, Ironton, Waverly, Piketon, Portsmouth West, Portsmouth and Wheelersburg.

Division VI members (112-to-155) include Oak Hill, Nelsonville York, Valley and Coal Grove.

South Gallia, Eastern and Southern all drop from Division VI to Division VII, accompanying 102 other schools with 111 boys or less. Also in the mix are Symmes Valley, Green, Sciotoville Community and Portsmouth Notre Dame.

Jackson is Division III and Minford is Division IV.

Breakdowns for all seven regions are available on the football page at ohsaa.com.

COACHING UPDATES: Interesting notes about coaches on the popular southeasternohiopreps.com website. In the Forum category under girls basketball, it's reported former Marshall women's basketball coach Sarah Evans-Moore is the new girls coach at River Valley. For boys basketball, Wheelersburg needs a new coach and several in the area are pushing for former Marshall standout Rodney Holden, who lives there.

FOOTBALL COMBINE: The third Tri-State Rehab high school football combine will be held June 22 at Ironton High School. Starting time is 9 a.m. Players will undergo tests and drills used at NFL combines and results will be made available to players for college purposes. Fee is $30 and includes lunch and guest speaker Roman Fry, former All-Atlantic Coast Conference first-team selection and Outland Trophy candidate. For more information, contact Dave Coburn at davecoburn37@yahoo.com.

NORTH-SOUTH SKILLS: Travis Tomer from University High School won the slam dunk competition Friday at the North-South All-Star Basketball Classic in the South Charleston Community Center. The 6-foot-5 Tomer beat 6-7 Josh Martin from Greenbrier West in the finals.

Tomer also won the 3-point shooting competition by sinking 9 of 15 attempts in the finals. Zach Casto from Charleston Catholic made eight and state player of the year Donte' Grantham from Martinsburg sank seven. Matt Dolan from the Scott Skyhawks was the free-throw shooting contest winner. Dolan made 9 of 10 while runner-up Keith Mullins from Greater Beckley made 7 of 10.

Recipients of $500 scholarships were Mackenzie Martin from Chapmanville and Doug Dennis from Parkersburg South.

George Washington guard Luke Eddy scored 24 points in the South's 92-81 victory and was named MVP of his squad. North team MVP Travon Horton from Fairmont Senior had 16 points.

NEW EAGLES: Morehead State's football recruits include receiver Mason Rutherford from Fairview High School and offensive lineman Derrick Jude from Belfry.

Rutherford caught 51 passes for 1,106 yards and 11 touchdowns in the last three seasons at Fairview. He also had 222 tackles and 22 interceptions on defense. He was a 2013 track and field state champion in the high jump, placed second in the triple jump and was third in the long jump.

Jude was an all-state second team selection as a senior. He helped Belfry to Kentucky 3A runner-up finishes in 2011 and 2012.

LACROSSE HONOR: C.J. Harvey of Capital High School is the 2013 U.S. Lacrosse Bob Scott Award winner. He played four seasons for the Cougars. The two-time All-State honoree on defense served as co-captain the final two seasons. The award recognizes a high school senior who is an exceptional player, helps develop the game in his community, embodies spirit on and off the field and academic role model. Bob Scott served as the men's head lacrosse coach for Johns Hopkins from 1955 until 1974. During the time, the Blue Jays won seven national championships. Scottv is in the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame.

David Walsh is a reporter for The Herald-Dispatch. Contact him at 304-526-2759 or dwalsh@herald-dispatch.com.