1 pm: 56°FSunny

3 pm: 62°FSunny

5 pm: 63°FSunny

7 pm: 59°FSunny

More Weather

Racing boats headed to Huntington

Jul. 20, 2013 @ 05:10 PM

HUNTINGTON — Terry Rinker from Tampa, Fla., the 2012 American Power Boat Association champion in the Formula 2 (SST 120) division, is among the anticipated entries for The Huntington Classic.

Racing teams will hit town Friday for registration and safety inspection before the action Saturday, July 27, and Sunday, July 28,  on the Ohio River at Harris Riverfront Park. Admission is free.

Drivers in Formula 2 and Formula 3 tunnel boats will be competing for the APBA’s North East Divisional Championship. The event is APBA sanctioned and conducted by APR Events Group, the nation’s premier promoter of outboard powerboat racing.

Huntington is the third stop on the APR Superleague schedule. Earlier races were contested in Knoxville, Tenn., and Pittsburgh, Pa.

Formula 2 (SST 120 and SST 200) and Formula 3 (SST 60) boats are scheduled to race. SST 120 and 200 boats have a minimum length of 16-feet and can reach speeds of 100-plus mph in straightaways. SST 60 boats are at least 14-feet long and can reach 80 to 85 mph.

Boats will turn laps on an oval course in about 32 to 34 seconds.

Terry Rinker was the Formula 2 winner in Huntington the past two seasons and is the Superleague’s two-time defending champion. He won the North American Championship title July 4 in Pittsburgh.
Team Amsoil also includes Terry Rinker’s sons Rob and Ashton.

Brent Dillard of Dalzell, S.C., leads the Formula 2 season points standings after finishing second behind Terry Rinker in Pittsburgh. Dillard picked up a win June 2 in Knoxville.

Formula 3 season points leader Jeff Krischano from Elk River, Minn., won in Pittsburgh and placed second in Knoxville behind Sam LeBanco of Northbrook, Ill.

Some local flavor is added to the Formula 2 races by Herd Racing (www.herdracing.com) teammates Dana Tomes of Lesage and Jerry Guinn of Stout, Ohio, downriver in Adams County. Tomes and Guinn placed fourth and fifth respectively at the North American Championships.