Monday, April 12, 2021

Democrat Charles Booker, whose progressive campaign in Kentucky came up just short in last year's Senate primary, said he's forming an exploratory committee as he weighs a follow-up race in 2022 against Republican incumbent Sen. Rand Paul.

Wednesday, January 27, 2021
Monday, January 25, 2021
Tuesday, January 19, 2021
Monday, January 11, 2021
Thursday, January 07, 2021

Congress confirmed Joe Biden as the presidential election winner early Thursday after a violent mob loyal to President Donald Trump stormed the U.S. Capitol in a stunning attempt to overturn America's presidential election.

Tuesday, December 15, 2020
Monday, December 14, 2020
Sunday, December 13, 2020

CHARLESTON — West Virginia Republicans will soon have to welcome back a lawmaker who resigned in the heat of his re-election campaign and then jumped back into the race after spending most of his first term embroiled in scandals over discriminatory remarks about gay people and Muslims.

Thursday, December 10, 2020
Tuesday, December 08, 2020
Friday, December 04, 2020
Wednesday, November 11, 2020
Wednesday, November 11, 2020
Tuesday, November 10, 2020
Monday, November 09, 2020
Sunday, November 08, 2020
Saturday, November 07, 2020
  • Comments

WASHINGTON — Joseph Robinette Biden Jr. was elected the nation’s 46th president Saturday, powered by legions of women and minority voters who rejected President Donald Trump’s handling of the coronavirus pandemic and his conduct in office.

Friday, November 06, 2020

WASHINGTON — Former vice president Joe Biden appeared to be on a clear path to being elected the 46th president of the United States after updated vote counts on Friday put him ahead in several key states and seemed to all but close off President Donald Trump’s chances of remaining in office.

Thursday, November 05, 2020
Wednesday, November 04, 2020
Tuesday, November 03, 2020

HUNTINGTON — The Huntington City Council will see several new faces at its table at the start of 2021, as several new members were elected into office Tuesday in the 2020 general election.

CHARLESTON — West Virginia Gov. Jim Justice, who has spent the spring, summer and fall anchoring televised state COVID-19 briefings, rode to a relatively easy re-election victory Tuesday, defeating Charleston lawyer Ben Salango, who was making his first run for statewide office.

  • Comments

WASHINGTON — Senate Republicans were fighting to hold on to their majority Tuesday night as GOP incumbents in pivotal states remained locked in tight contests with their Democratic challengers amid a political environment that had become increasingly challenging for President Donald Trump an…

  • Comments

WASHINGTON - Senate Republicans were fighting to hold on to their majority Tuesday night as GOP incumbents in pivotal states remained locked in tight contests with their Democratic challengers amid a political environment that had become increasingly challenging for President Donald Trump an…

If voter turnout on Election Day is consistent with turnout during early and absentee voting, West Virginia could set a record in 2020, Mike Queen, director of communications for the Secretary of State's Office, said Monday.

Monday, November 02, 2020
Sunday, November 01, 2020
Saturday, October 31, 2020
Friday, October 30, 2020
Thursday, October 29, 2020
Wednesday, October 28, 2020
Monday, October 26, 2020
Saturday, October 24, 2020
Wednesday, October 21, 2020

  • West Virginia Voter Information
  • CANDIDATES IN CONTESTED RACES: We are working with all candidates in contested races to get their questionnaires included on our website.

    If a candidate is having trouble sending in a questionnaire, please click on an existing profile in your race. Send the same information, your numbered answers and your photo in an email to acopley@HDMediaLLC.com. You will receive a confirmation email back within two business days.

    W.Va. Candidates

    Color bars are links that go to the candidate's profile page. At this time, we are sending questionnaires only to candidates in contested races. All remaining candidates will receive questionnaires after the primary election.

    VOTER REGISTRATION DEADLINE: Oct. 13

    APPLY FOR ABSENTEE BALLOT: Aug. 11-Oct. 28

    EARLY VOTING: Oct. 21-Oct. 31

    GENERAL ELECTION: Nov. 3

STATE RACES

U.S. SENATE

U.S. HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

DISTRICT 1
  • Natalie Cline (D)
  • David B. McKinley (i) (R)
DISTRICT 2
DISTRICT 3

GOVERNOR

ATTORNEY GENERAL

COMMISSIONER OF AGRICULTURE

AUDITOR

SECRETARY OF STATE

STATE TREASURER

STATE SENATE

DISTRICT 5 (Cabell, part of Wayne) DISTRICT 6 (Mercer, parts of McDowell, Mingo and Wayne)
  • Chandler Swope (i) (R)
DISTRICT 7 (Boone, Lincoln, Logan, parts of Mingo and Wayne)

HOUSE OF DELEGATES

DISTRICT 16 (parts of Cabell and Lincoln) (3 seats) DISTRICT 17 (parts of Cabell and Wayne) (2 seats) DISTRICT 18 (part of Cabell) (1 seat)
DISTRICT 19 (part of Wayne) (2 seats) DISTRICT 22 (parts of Boone, Lincoln, Logan and Putnam) (2 seats)
  • Cecil Silva (D)
  • Jeff Eldridge (D)
  • Zack Maynard (i) (R)
  • Joseph "Joe" Jeffries (i) (R)

CABELL COUNTY RACES

ASSESSOR

  • Irv Johnson (R) (i)

COUNTY COMMISSION

PROSECUTING ATTORNEY

  • Sean Hammers (i) (D)

SHERIFF

  • Chuck Zerkle (i) (D)

HUNTINGTON RACES

MAYOR

COUNCIL DISTRICT 1

COUNCIL DISTRICT 2

COUNCIL DISTRICT 3

COUNCIL DISTRICT 4

COUNCIL DISTRICT 5

COUNCIL DISTRICT 6

COUNCIL DISTRICT 7

COUNCIL DISTRICT 8

COUNCIL DISTRICT 9

COUNCIL AT-LARGE (2 seats)

WAYNE COUNTY RACES

ASSESSOR

  • Ric Browning (D)

COUNTY COMMISSION

  • Robert M. Thompson (i) (D)

SHERIFF

  • Rick Thompson (i) (D)

SURVEYOR

  • Matthew Strogen (i) (D)