MU football players honored by C-USA

Marshall's Ryan Yurachek is honored on senior day as the Herd takes on Southern Miss in a C-USA football game on Nov. 25 at Joan C. Edwards Stadium in Huntington.

HUNTINGTON — Marshall University had 13 football players receive accolades Tuesday as All-Conference USA performers in voting by the league's head coaches.

Three Marshall players were named to the All-C-USA first team: wide receiver Tyre Brady, tight end Ryan Yurachek and punter Kaare Vedvik.

Brady came to Marshall from the University of Miami in 2016 and, after sitting out last year, was as good as advertised for the Thundering Herd this season.

Despite battling injuries, Brady caught 56 passes for 777 yards and seven touchdowns in his first year on the field for Marshall.

Brady's top game of the season came in the Herd's 37-20 loss at N.C. State when he hauled in 11 passes for 248 yards and a touchdown.

Yurachek has had one of the elite careers for a tight end in Marshall history. This

season, Yurachek has 47 receptions for 434 yards and nine touchdowns for Marshall. He caught three touchdowns in two separate games — Marshall's road win over Cincinnati and the Herd's tough 28-27 loss to Southern Miss last week.

Vedvik has been a special teams standout in C-USA, handling all three kicking duties for the Herd. Vedvik averaged 44.4 yards per punt which led C-USA and he pinned teams inside the 20-yard line on 23 occasions. He had a 92-yard punt against Old Dominion. The senior specialist also averaged 63.4 yards per kickoff with 26 touch backs to help Marshall to a special teams advantage.

Marshall placed five players on the all-conference second team headlined by linebacker Chase Hancock, who was one of C-USA's top tacklers throughout the season. Hancock, who has 120 total tackles, nine tackles for loss and two quarterback sacks, was joined on the second team by center Levi Brown (12 starts), defensive tackle Ryan Bee (49 tackles, 6.5 tackles for loss, 5.5 sacks), safety Malik Gant (96 tackles, 5.5 tackles for loss) and kick returner Keion Davis (30.9 yard-per-return average, two touchdowns).

Three other Herd players — wide receiver Marcel Williams, defensive back Chris Jackson and long snapper Matt Beardall — were named as C-USA honorable mention selections.

The C-USA All-Freshman Team was also announced and the Herd's selections were offensive lineman Tarik Adams and running back Tyler King (810 rushing yards, six touchdowns).

Between the top two teams in all-conference and the all-freshman team Marshall had 10 honorees, which tied Florida Atlantic and Southern Miss for league highs in those categories.

C-USA's specialty awards will be announced Wednesday afternoon.

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.