Skip to main content
Monday, June 27, 2022
Sunday, June 26, 2022

IRONTON — A section of Ohio 93 north of Ironton will be closed for three days beginning Monday, June 27, as part of a culvert replacement project, according to the Ohio Department of Transportation.

Saturday, June 25, 2022
Friday, June 24, 2022
Wednesday, June 22, 2022
Tuesday, June 21, 2022

COLUMBUS, Ohio — An Ohio man who has admitted to killing five members from a single family will be allowed to testify at the death penalty trial of his brother, who is charged in the same crime, according to a judge’s ruling Tuesday.

WHEELERSBURG, Ohio — A man riding a motorcycle was killed Sunday in a crash, according to a release from the Ohio State Highway Patrol. The crash was reported at 12:43 p.m. Sunday on Ohio River Road near the intersection of downtown Hayport Road in Porter Township, according to the release.

Saturday, June 18, 2022
Saturday, June 18, 2022
  • Comments

COLUMBUS, Ohio — State leaders continued to spar on Friday over whether the Ohio Supreme Court should force the state’s Republican-dominated political mapmaking panel to answer for defying a court order to redraw unconstitutional Statehouse maps.

  • Comments

ROME TOWNSHIP, Ohio — Next week’s Lawrence County Board of Commissioners will be held at 10 a.m. Friday at the Lawrence County Fairgrounds.

IRONTON — Work is scheduled to begin June 27 on a culvert along Ohio 93 north of Ironton, according to the Ohio Department of Transportation.

Friday, June 17, 2022

ATHENS, Ohio — Ohio University and its regional campuses — including the Southern campus in Ironton and Proctorville — has been designated as a Collegiate Purple Star campus because of the university’s longstanding history of supporting military personnel in higher education.

Thursday, June 16, 2022
  • Comments

IRONTON — Lawrence, Scioto and Gallia counties are in line to receive about $3 million in state funds for capital projects as part of the $3.5 billion capital projects grants, according to State Rep. Jason Stephens, R-Kitts Hill, and Brian Baldridge, R-Winchester.

Wednesday, June 15, 2022
  • Comments

IRONTON — The Lawrence County Board of Commissioners approved a resolution seeking $1 million in projects in Ironton and Coal Grove, according to Commissioner Freddie Hayes Jr.

Tuesday, June 14, 2022

HANGING ROCK, Ohio — PureCycle and the Lawrence-Scioto Solid Waste Management District are hosting a highway cleanup along County Road 1A starting at 8:30 a.m. Wednesday, June 15, according to a news release.

Monday, June 13, 2022
Sunday, June 12, 2022

CHESAPEAKE, Ohio — The Lawrence County Airpark has been awarded an $82,770 grant to rehab the existing airport apron and existing taxiway west of Chesapeake, according to a news release from the office of U.S. Sen. Sherrod Brown, D-Ohio.

Saturday, June 11, 2022

IRONTON — The Hecla Water Association Consumer Confidence report for 2022 is available at https://heclawater.com/PDF/HeclaWater-ccr-2022.pdf or at the Hecla Water office, 3190 State Route 141, Ironton.

Friday, June 10, 2022
Thursday, June 09, 2022
  • Comments

IRONTON — An Ashland man was acquitted Thursday in Lawrence County Common Pleas Court on a charge of murder, but convicted on charges of tampering with evidence and trafficking marijuana.

Wednesday, June 08, 2022
Tuesday, June 07, 2022

PORTSMOUTH, Ohio — Several local law enforcement offices have been awarded grants that are part of a $3.9 million initiative to support local law enforcement, according to the office of Gov. Mike DeWine.

Monday, June 06, 2022
Sunday, June 05, 2022
Friday, June 03, 2022
Thursday, June 02, 2022
Wednesday, June 01, 2022
Tuesday, May 31, 2022

CHILLICOTHE, Ohio — The Southern Ohio Council of Governments (SOCOG) will hold its next board meeting on Thursday, June 2, at 10 a.m. at Southern Ohio Council of Governments, 167 West Main St., Chillicothe, Ohio. Board meetings usually are held the first Thursday of the month. For more infor…

Monday, May 30, 2022