Courtesy of Jill Sergent Hurricane High School's Class of 2019 boasts 111 students who are eligible for the PROMISE Scholarship.

The Putnan Herald

HURRICANE - Out of 329 total, 111 members of the Hurricane High School Class of 2019 are eligible for The PROMISE Scholarship, according to a news release from the school.

The merit-based scholarship provides annual awards up to $4,750 to cover the cost of tuition and mandatory fees at public or independent institutions in West Virginia. The students must have a GPA of 3.0 or higher, at least a 22 composite score on the ACT, with no less than a 20 in each subcategory.

"Hurricane High School would like to congratulate these students for their hard work which has obviously paid off," the school stated in the release.

PROMISE-eligible students from Hurricane High are:

Brayden Adams; Bailey Allen; Kelsey Ashworth; Alik Assi; Kailyn Bailey; Abigail Baker; Ainlsee Batt; Justin Belcher; Gavin Bell; Cameron Berry; Olivia Bird; Callen Bostic; Haley Bowman; NIcholas Brown; Emily Browning; Peyton Burford; Stacy Butler; Yilin Cai; Loren Canterbury; Eden Cantrell; Marissa Carter; Gwyneth Cartwright; Alexia Clark; Randy Clark; Hannah Clatworthy; Cameron Collins; Adam Cook; Jacob Cooper; James Cooper; Gwyneth Cox; Carter Damron; Sydney Daniels; Seth Davis; Andrew Dean; Carson Diehl; Thomas Donovan; Lauren Duespohl; Hannah Elgin; Brianna Fernandez; Ryan Fisher; Jack Fuentes; Chloe Fullen; Dalton Geter; Lacey Gibson; Alyssa Gillenwater; Aaron Goldsberry; Caleb Gooden; Caylee Greene; Makayla Guinn; Adam Gulley; Adele Gulley; Olivia Hart; Madison Haynes; Thomas Hefner; Abigail Howat; Isaac Hunter; Torianna James; Alice Johnson; Colton Jones; Cameron Kimble; Kryzstof Kudlak; Madison Leary; Joshua Lovejoy; Brooke Lucas; Sara Lusher; Trinity McCallister; Taylor McCray; Timothy McCutchen; Alexandra McDaniel; James McPherson; Riley Meadows; Shelby Metz; Jacob Morgan; Joseph Muto; Natalie Neville; Olivia Newhouse; Chayce Newman; Serena Nichols; Tylee Oldham; Jayden Pardue; Andrew Parker; Hunter Parsons; Miranda Pate; Kaylie Pauley; Elleanor Payette; Ashlyn Pechon; Lydia Peterson; Madelaine Pifer; Allen Quinlan; Brandon Ramsey; Samuel Reeder; Blake Ross; Megan Salmons; Christopher Sanders; Nikolas Saunders; Tahya Schmidt; Jenna Sergent; Alivia Slate; Margaret Smith; December Sniff; Riley Stephens; Austin Stover; Rachel Stump; Mallory Thomas; Anna Tingler; Brooke Tinsley; Randy Trout; Bryce Underwood; Bryce Vickers; Carly Ward; Natalie Watson; Brooke Welch; Sydney Wheeler; Jayce Wright; Grant Young.


Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.