Editor's Note: This is the 240th in a series of articles recalling vanished Huntington scenes.
HUNTINGTON — Miller School, built in 1915, was long a landmark in its Southside neighborhood. It welcomed generations of elementary students until 2010, when it was closed and later demolished. Today, a small park stands at the former school site at 12th Avenue and 7th Street.
In 2007, students at Miller and Cammack elementary schools were consolidated into a new school — named Southside Elementary.
In the 1980-81 school year, Miller had more than 400 students, but like many other Cabell County schools its re-enrollment steadily declined over time. In the last year before the consolidation, 2005-06, Miller had only 146 students.
The former Miller and Cammack students were housed in the Miller building while renovation work was done at the former Cammack building, which had been designated to be the home of the new Southside school. After that work was done, the students were moved and the former Miller building sat vacant until it was demolished.
In 2013, Huntington businessman Jim St. Clair and his son, Sam St. Clair, provided $100,000 for the Greater Huntington Park and Recreation District to purchase the former school property from the Board of Education. At the same time, another city business leader, Sterling Hall, chaired a $30,000 fundraising effort to purchase materials needed to transform the property into a small park.
A grassy area surrounded by trees, Miller Park stands as a welcome oasis of green space in the residential neighborhood. In 2015, Southside Elementary students helped plant 30 apple and peach trees at the park.
Do you enjoy the "Lost Huntington" series?
"Lost Huntington: Volume 1" is a hardcover, full-color book of some of the city's lost landmarks. The book is likely to be of interest to anyone who enjoys history and loves Huntington.
Books are $29.95 plus tax, shipping and handling. To order, visit media.herald-dispatch.com/ecom/ or call 304-526-2720.