The Tri-State’s TRUSTED news source.

Click here to stay informed and subscribe to Herald-Dispatch.

Click #isupportlocal for more information on supporting our local journalists.

Learn more about HD Media

20201219 mu football 07.jpg

Marshall quarterback Grant Wells attempts a pass as the Herd takes on UAB in the Conference USA Football Championship on Friday, Dec. 18, 2020, at Joan C. Edwards Stadium in Huntington.

HUNTINGTON — Marshall University sophomore Grant Wells was selected to the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award Watch List on Tuesday.

The Charleston native and former George Washington High School standout was one of 30 quarterbacks named to the list.

It was the second such honor in as many days for Wells, who was tabbed to the Maxwell Award (college player of the year) list on Monday. He was named to both lists during the course of the 2020 season, a campaign that saw him throw for 18 touchdowns (fourth nationally among freshmen) and 2,091 yards (fifth nationally among freshmen).

Last season, Wells was the first quarterback in Conference USA history to earn first team all-conference honors, which was a driving force behind being named C-USA Freshman of the Year.

Compiled by a subset of the Davey O’Brien National Selection Committee, this year’s list was selected based on career player performance and expectations heading into the 2021 college football season. All nominees are required to have previously started at least one game at an NCAA Division I program.

For the second straight year, players honored as weekly Davey O’Brien Great 8 recipients, as well as any additional quarterbacks approved by the selection subcommittee, will be added to form the official Davey O’Brien Midseason Watch List on Monday, October 18. The Davey O’Brien QB Class of 2021 will be announced on Oct. 25.

Sixteen semifinalists selected from the QB Class of 2021 list will be named on Nov. 8. The Foundation will announce the three finalists Nov. 22. The 2021 Davey O’Brien Award winner will be unveiled live on ESPN on Dec. 9, during The Home Depot College Football Awards. Fan voting on social media will again play a role in the semifinalist, finalist and winner voting totals when combined with the national selection committee’s ballots.

The 45th Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner is scheduled for Feb. 21, 2022, in Fort Worth, Texas.

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Recommended for you