Thursday, June 24, 2021
Wednesday, June 23, 2021
Tuesday, June 22, 2021

Cabell Midland and St. Albans each picked up opening wins in the Class AAA state tournament on Tuesday following dominant performances by their pitchers. Midland's Jess Terry struck out 16 in a 1-0 win over Washington while St. Albans pitcher Tayven Stephenson allowed just one hit in a 3-0 win over John Marshall at Little Creek Park in South Charleston.

Morgan Christian delivered a three-run homer as part of a four-run, top of the seventh as the White Falcons (25-0) stayed unbeaten with a comeback win. Wahama advanced to take on Ritchie County in the winner’s bracket on Tuesday evening after Petersburg was scheduled to take on Midland Trail…

Monday, June 21, 2021

With 13 home runs on the year and a .566 batting average, Cabell Midland's Rielly Lucas knows teams aren't going to give her much to hit. Whether the bat's in her hands or taken out by an intentional walk, she'll have an impact on tournament play.

Sunday, June 20, 2021
Saturday, June 19, 2021
Friday, June 18, 2021

The Kentucky-West Virginia Shootout, an NCAA-certified event hosted by Ashland Blazer, offered 29 teams from four states the opportunity to be seen by 35 college programs at four different local venues as part of the first weekend of the NCAA's June scholastic period.

Thursday, June 17, 2021
Wednesday, June 16, 2021

Cabell Midland's Olivia Pelfrey finished with two home runs and six RBIs while K.K. Wallis added two home runs to lead the Knights to a 13-9 win over Ripley in the Class AAA, Region IV softball championship at Ripley High School.

Tuesday, June 15, 2021
Monday, June 14, 2021

MOREHEAD, Ky. — Whitley County (31-9) scored three unearned runs in the third inning in a 6-5 victory over Raceland (31-8) in a semi-state baseball game at Morehead State University’s Allen Field.

Sunday, June 13, 2021

HUNTINGTON — Little has come easy for Cabell Midland High School’s baseball team this season, so the Knights figure the latest challenge is just one more in a lengthy line of them.

HUNTINGTON -- Ironton High School's Jim Dyer is the Ohio Valley Conference softball coach of the year after leading the Fighting Tigers to the league championship and the region finals.

Saturday, June 12, 2021
Friday, June 11, 2021

WINFIELD, W.Va. — Dianna Goodman, who signed with the track program at Marshall University on Tuesday during a ceremony at David Bailey Track in Winfield, confessed that earning a scholarship wasn’t her primary motivation for excelling in the pole vault.

Thursday, June 10, 2021

HURRICANE, W.Va. — Hurricane rallied for three runs in the bottom of the sixth inning to defeat Independence 6-3 Wednesday in regular-season high school baseball.

Wednesday, June 09, 2021
Tuesday, June 08, 2021

ASHLAND — Ashland Blazer scored seven runs in the second inning, added three more in the third then held off a rally by East Carter on Monday to secure a 16-7 victory over the Raiders in Kentucky’s Region 16 baseball tournament.

Monday, June 07, 2021

Cabell Midland's Clay Holmes delivered a game-winning single with the bases loaded in the ninth inning to give the Knights a 5-4 win in the Class AAA, Region IV, Section 1 baseball championship game on Monday night at Cabell Midland.