Tuesday, January 19, 2021

HUNTINGTON — Last week, when Fairland cracked the top 10 of the Ohio Associated Press boys high school basketball poll, it was news to Dragons coach Nathan Speed, who hadn’t seen the rankings.

Monday, January 18, 2021

CHILLICOTHE, Ohio — Fairland (12-1) jumped time a 21-1 lead and rolled to a victory over the host Pioneers Monday afternoon.

Sunday, January 17, 2021

FRANKLIN FURNACE, Ohio — Ethan Huffman and Levi Sampson each scored 27 points to power Green (4-8 overall, 3-5 Southern Ohio Conference) to a triumph over Symmes Valley Saturday in boys high school basketball.

Saturday, January 16, 2021
Friday, January 15, 2021

COAL GROVE, Ohio — Kaleigh Murphy pulled down 13 rebounds, including the 500th of her career Thursday night in helping Coal Grove to a 62-43 victory over visiting Rock Hill in girls high school basketball.

Thursday, January 14, 2021

SOUTH POINT, Ohio — Maddy Petro came up big in the fourth quarter while Gallia Academy’s defense held South Point without a field goal and rallied to defeat the Lady Pointers, 40-32, Thursday night in Ohio Valley Conference girls basketball at the South Point Gym.

HUNTINGTON — George Madison rolled a perfect game Sunday at the Strike Zone Bowling Center. It was the first 300 game for Madison, who was bowling in the Twi-Light Zone League.

Thursday, January 14, 2021

PEDRO, Ohio — Fairland stormed out to a big lead in the first quarter on Wednesday that rolled to a 70-41 win over Rock Hill in an Ohio Valley Conference girls high school basketball game at the Redwomen’s gymnasium.

Wednesday, January 13, 2021
Tuesday, January 12, 2021

COAL GROVE, Ohio — A blocked shot by Jarren Hicks as time expired preserved a 62-60 Ohio Valley Conference boys basketball win for Coal Grove against Portsmouth on Tuesday on the Hornets’ home floor.

Monday, January 11, 2021
Sunday, January 10, 2021
Saturday, January 09, 2021
Friday, January 08, 2021

SOUTH POINT, Ohio — Sarah Roach celebrated senior night with a 20-point effort to lead South Point to a 53-33 victory over Portsmouth in Ohio Valley Conference girls high school basketball.

Thursday, January 07, 2021

WILLOW WOOD, Ohio — Symmes Valley built a nine-point fourth-quarter lead and held on for a 56-55 victory over Ironton St. Joe Tuesday in boys high school basketball.

Wednesday, January 06, 2021

ROME TOWNSHIP, Ohio — Fairland girls basketball head coach Jon Buchanan said he had two goals for the Dragons ahead of its game on Tuesday against Portsmouth — get a lot of his players into the game and play hard.

Tuesday, January 05, 2021

Harley Paynter scored 21 points and Laney Whitmore's defense set the tone as Boyd County's girls basketball team used its experience to gain an early lead in a 76-49 win over Ashland in the season-opener for both teams on Monday at Anderson Gymnasium.

Monday, January 04, 2021
Sunday, January 03, 2021
Saturday, January 02, 2021
Friday, January 01, 2021
Thursday, December 31, 2020
Wednesday, December 30, 2020
Tuesday, December 29, 2020

WILLOW WOOD, Ohio — Chesapeake (4-2) raced to an 18-8 lead and rolled to a 61-52 victory over Symmes Valley (5-5) Monday night in girls high school basketball.

Monday, December 28, 2020
Friday, December 25, 2020

Musselman's Blake Hartman is the 2020 winner of the Kennedy Award, given to the state's top high school player. Hartman also earned the Warner Award, given to the state's top running back. Both awards are presented by the West Virginia Sports Writers Association.

Wednesday, December 23, 2020

Spring Valley offensive lineman Wyatt Milum, a West Virginia University signee, won the 2020 Stydahar Award, given to the state's top interior lineman by the West Virginia Sports Writers Association.

Monday, December 21, 2020
Saturday, December 19, 2020

Ashland's Keontae Pittman rushed for 253 yards and three touchdowns to lead a 415-yard rushing performance for the Tomcats, who won their first state title since 1990 with a 35-14 win over Elizabethtown in the Kentucky Class 3A Championship at Lexington's Kroger Field on Saturday.

Friday, December 18, 2020

LEXINGTON, Kentucky - Paintsville's football team used its powerful rushing attack and strong offensive line to power to the Class A Championship in a 38-7 win over Kentucky Country Day on Friday at Lexington's Kroger Field.