Essential reporting in volatile times.

Not a Subscriber yet? Click here to take advantage of All access digital limited time offer $4.99 per month EZ Pay.

Interested in Donating? Click #ISupportLocal for more information on supporting local journalism.

2017 NBA Awards - Press Room

Mike D'Antoni poses with his trophy for NBA Coach of the Year in the press room at the 2017 NBA Awards at Basketball City at Pier 36 on Monday, June 26, 2017, in New York.

NEW YORK — Former Marshall Thundering Herd men's basketball player Mike D'Antoni was named as the NBA Coach of the Year during Monday night's NBA Awards show on the TNT network.

D'Antoni, 66, is the younger brother of Marshall head coach Dan D'Antoni, 69. They're both in the Marshall Athletic Hall of Fame. Mike D'Antoni played for the Thundering Herd from 1970 to 1973, following his brother as a player from 1966 to 1969.

NBA Coach of the Year was selected by a global panel of sportswriters and broadcasters.

D'Antoni won Coach of the Year honors for the second time, adding to the 2004-05 season award with the Phoenix Suns. Other finalists this year were Gregg Popovich of the San Antonio Spurs and Erik Spoelstra from the Miami Heat.

In his first season as head coach of the Rockets, D'Antoni guided the team to a 55-27 mark and the NBA playoffs after Houston went 41-41 in 2015-16. The 55 wins tied for the fourth-most in franchise history. He was named as the Western Conference Coach of the Month in December after Houston went 15-2, tying for the most wins in a single month in franchise history.

D'Antoni engineered an offense that set the NBA record for the most 3-pointers made in a season with 1,181. Houston finished second in the league in scoring with 115.3 points per game, tying for the second-highest scoring average in franchise history. The Rockets scored at least 130 points 12 times, marking the highest single season total by any team dating back to 1992-93.

Other NBA awards:

>> Most Valuable Player: Russell Westbrook, Oklahoma City.

>> Rookie of the Year: Malcolm Brogdon, Milwaukee.

>> Most Improved Player: Giannis Antetokounmpo, Milwaukee.

>> Executive of the Year: Bob Myers, Golden State.

>> Lifetime Achievement: Bill Russell.

>> Sixth Man of the Year: Eric Gordon, Houston.

>> Defensive Player of the Year: Draymond Green, Golden State.

>> Hustle Award: Patrick Beverley, Houston Rockets.

>> Sportsmanship Award: Kemba Walker, Charlotte.

>> Teammate of the Year: Dirk Nowitzki, Dallas.

>> Sager Strong Award — Monty Williams

>> All-Rookie Team: Malcolm Brogdon, Milwaukee; Dario Saric, Philadelphia; Joel Embiid, Philadelphia; Buddy Hield, Sacramento; Willy Hernangomez, New York.

>> All-Defensive Team: Draymond Green, Golden State; Rudy Gobert, Utah; Kawhi Leonard, San Antonio; Chris Paul, L.A. Clippers; Patrick Beverley, Houston.

>> NBA Cares Community Assist Award: Isaiah Thomas, Boston.

Fan-voted awards

>> Dunk of the Year: Oklahoma City's Victor Oladipo vs. Atlanta

>> Best Style: Oklahoma City's Russell Westbrook

>> Block of the Year: San Antonio's Kawhi Leonard vs. Houston

>> Assist of the Year: Golden State's Draymond Green to Stephen Curry to Kevin Durant

>> Game Winner of the Year: Oklahoma City's Russell Westbrook vs. Denver

>> Top Performance of the Year: Golden State's KlayThompson scores 60 in three quarters vs. Indiana

>> Best Playoff Moment: Golden State's Kevin Durant hits pull-up 3-pointer late in Game 3 of The Finals


Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.